GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

TOS Crew: Vocal Coach – Teaching Kids to Sing

on November 15, 2012

Photobucket

I must say that saving the best for last may just be true in this instance.  This is the last review I’ll be writing for the 2012 TOS Crew year and it’s a great one – Vocal Coach sent me a copy of Teaching Kids to Sing which includes 2 DVDs and 1 CD to teach your child how to go about singing, almost like having your own real voice coach in residence.  Teaching Kids to Sing is geared for children ages 5 to 13 years old – great for families that have several age spans in their house and not wanting to have to have a different music program for each age.

Chris and Carol Beatty, the creators of Vocal Coach have been training singers for over 4 decades, so one could definitely make the assumption that they know something about training others to sing.  This will come through as you watch the DVD in which Chris and Carol as well as other children who will join your family in learning how to sing in a fun and innovative way.  Teaching Kids to Sing DVD/CD set sells for $44.99 and includes the following:

  1. Building Foundations that Last DVD – includes lessons on posture, warm-ups, tone, and more.
  2. Essential Skills for Growing Voices – lessons on rhythm, dynamics, vocal health, and more.
  3. Accompaniment Track CD – 26 Demo and accompaniment tracks both with tracks or vocal only

It is recommended that this be used every day to make sure that the children get all they can from the lessons, however in our house, we only school Monday through Thursday and taking into account the teacher being sick on some days.  Even with me being down sick it was easy for my children to put in the DVD and begin watching where we left off the day before and do their own signing lesson when I couldn’t be completely present.  The videos are engaging and keep the children’s focus and since they are well developed it really made the  ‘class’ seem more real.  Even I found myself participating and trying to correct my posture, breathing and tone as I watched along with my children.

There are no lesson plans – some may find this a bit intimidating and others, like me, will find it liberating and a perfect fit for our homeschool.  While there are no lesson plans, it’s easy to tell when the DVD breaks and if your child or children need a different pace then it can be done without feeling one or the other is behind.  If one child does well with say the posture part but another child needs help have the child who can move on do her lesson on say tone while the other child works and re-watches the posture portion.  If you do need some more guidance in how to make it work there are some ideas on the Homeschool Tips and Suggestions page, including an exam for the Building Foundations and another for the Essentials disc and answer keys.

As our family definitely enjoys music and all the children enjoy signing this is going to be getting a lot of continued use – including by me, once my voice is back up to par.  I also appreciated that I could put the CD on my iPod so I didn’t have to drag the CD along when we’d listen in the van, which meant time practicing and doing ‘school’ when we weren’t really doing school – a definite plus.  If your looking for a way to get your children lessons in singing but can’t go the private lessons route or you just want your child to have musical knowledge in how to sign then this is the place to go.  If you want to know what other homeschool parents though about Teaching Kids to Sing and other Vocal Coach products visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew Blog.

**Disclaimer:  As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received this product, at no cost to me, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are mine.

Photobucket

