GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Real Food, Real Frugal by Susan Godfrey (review and giveaway!)

on November 16, 2012

I’ve recently had the pleasure of reviewing another of Susan Godfrey’s books – I reviewed The Titus 2 Woman earlier this year.  Susan has so much information and she is an inspiring godly woman who wants all other women to use her knowledge to help them in their lives.  Real Food Real Frugal is a great book to have on hand especially if you are wanting to know more about real foods and how to cook with them to make you and your family healthier.  Susan does acknowledge that she is not a doctor and includes a disclaimer at the front of her book – but using information gleaned from other sources such as Nourishing Traditions and the Weston A. Price Foundation lends a great deal of credence to her writing.

Susan’s writing is very personal and conversational so the book is easy and fun to read.  She goes over what real food is and what kinds of real foods we should be including in our diets – using processed items very minimally and only when truly needed.   The first part of the book goes into what is not real food such as artificial sweeteners like Splenda, aspartame, MSG, soy, and others.  I know that I can’t have fake ‘sugars’ as they cause severe migraines as does MSG but I am now going to be more careful because I had no idea how food makers hide MSG under other names!  Soy is one of things I already avoid and if you want to know why you must grab Susan’s book which is available for Kindle, Nook, and PDF.  The Kindle and Nook versions are available for $3.99 and the PDF version (which can be easily loaded to the Kindle) for $1.99.

Most people when they think of feeding their family real food become scared because honestly, it can be very expensive to feed our families healthy food.  I can say that as much as I’d love to be able to buy organic meats or grass fed dairy – I can’t but I can do more fresh veggies and fruit.  Susan will tell you how make real foods affordable for you and your family as well as providing you with recipes for some of her tried and true real food recipes, including breads, appetizers, dips, soups, sides, main dishes, sweets and more.  I haven’t tried the recipes yet but by looking at the ingredient lists they are feasible and should fit in great with my grocery budget and not take hours to prepare (another scary thought when it comes to preparing real food – hours of prep and cooking).

She also lists numerous other resources that will benefit her readers in gaining more knowledge in real food education.  I can definitely say if you’re not sure where to start or are overwhelmed by other books on the market, Susan’s book is a good place to start – big on information, quick read and simple, easy to begin making recipes.  Of course, this could also be used by those who are veterans to the real food movement and just want a simple refresher or some new recipes to add to their repertoire.  Regardless, this book should be on anyone’s reading list who wants to do what is best for their family.

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a Kindle copy of Susan’s book from Susan Godfrey in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

If you’d like to win your own copy of Real Food, Real Frugal visit An Ohio Reviewing Mom for the Rafflecopter form – 11/16/12 to 11/26/12.  I am giving away 2 copies.

2 responses to “Real Food, Real Frugal by Susan Godfrey (review and giveaway!)

  1. Laraba says:

    Sounds really good, thanks! I think I’ll get it for the Kindle. Good price and sounds very helpful. I like the fact that it is a fairly quick read. I get overwhelmed by the complex stuff sometimes. Does she have an opinion about Stevia?

  2. Sarah Bailey says:

    Laraba, she does recommend Stevia. It’s a very good book – you could enter and try to win a copy 😀

Comments are closed.
