GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Confessions of April Grace: Chocolate Covered Baloney by KD McCrite

on November 21, 2012

 

About the Book:

 

The last thing April Grace wants is more change in her life—but that’s exactly what she gets! Plus, April has a new mystery to solve when Myra Sue starts sneaking around and acting very suspicious!

From snooty new neighbors to starting junior high to getting a new baby brother to having her grandmother get a boyfriend, April Grace has had enough change to last until she is at least 87 years old.

But when it rains, it pours, and April Grace is in for the ride of her life when her prissy, citified neighbor Isabel becomes her gym teacher and a long-lost relative suddenly reappears and throws everything into a tizzy. On top of that, April’s sister, Myra Sue, has been hiding something and sneaking around. April needs to find out what is going on before her silly sister gets herself into trouble again. More important, will April find the grace she needs to handle her topsy-turvy life and forgive past wrongs?

 

Girls will fall in love with April’s humor and completely relate to her as she deals with family, friends, drama, and both the humor and the heartache that are part of growing up.

 

My Opinion:

 

I’m not sure where to begin with this review.  Honestly, as a mom who is very cautious what her children read and who is also picky what she reads – this book was hard to digest.  I couldn’t even see my young self reading this book years ago – maybe because I much preferred the classics to ‘on the grade level’ reading books.  I admit there were times in this book I was laughing out loud – like at April’s description of how her Grandma drives – but at other times I was like really?  April and her sister, Myra are at each others throats constantly and I do mean constantly – well up until a very climatic ending but I won’t spoil it for you.

 

There is something about books where they are calling each other drip, idiot or telling each other to shut-up, among other antics.  Some would argue with me that this is typical sibling rivalry, but I don’t agree and I don’t particularly enjoy reading about siblings who can only fight with each other.  I did enjoy the multiple plots going on through the book and how everyone eventually forgives and the issues are solved, including the humor but honestly I could have done without all the fighting.

 

I did let my 10 year old read this along with me and she also shared the same concerns, so before anyone labels me as old fashioned, it was just I who didn’t like the name calling.  I think the sibling rivalry could have been done without the name calling on every page and the point would have still been made.  I also didn’t like that the parents didn’t seem to be a strong presence – mom was there but she seemed distant, dad was almost never home since he had to work and it just seemed like the sisters were on their own unless one of the Grandma’s or a neighbor was there.  I guess I’d say if you think you might let your child read this book, read it for yourself first and make an informed choice.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Confessions of April Grace: Chocolate Covered Baloney by KD McCrite

  1. Laraba says:

    It sounds like a lousy book to me, Sarah! I’m with you, I do NOT like books that give the idea that vicious sibling rivalry is normal. Your kids and ours are living very different lives in terms of not being in peer situations most of the time, having a parent around most of the time (all of the time, in your case!) — I think we can hope for far better for our kids. Our children fight, as you know, but we don’t allow name calling and we are there to encourage good relationships. The fact that these girls are pretty much “on their own” raises a lot of red flags. Thanks for the review…I wouldn’t read it and I wouldn’t let me kids read it either. To be clear, I think it is great that you and your 10 yo did so becuase you talked through the issues. I DO sometimes let my eldest read a possibly problematic book so long we talk through the themes and worldview. That has value.

Comments are closed.
