GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The Bridesmaid by Beverly Lewis

on November 21, 2012

About the Book:

Joanna Kurtz has made several trips to the altar, but never as a bride. The young Amish woman is a closet writer whose stories aren’t her only secret.

Eben Troyer hopes to make Joanna his bride–if he can ever leave his parents’ farm in Shipshewana, Indiana. Yet Eben’s hopes to build a life with Joanna hinge on his brother’s return from the English world….

My Opinion:

Beverly Lewis, one of the top names in Amish fiction has done it again – enter into Hickory Hollow and follow up with some old beloved characters and new ones.  I really enjoyed Joanna’s story as her struggles with her sister’s superstitions and her own inner struggle to want to know love but isn’t sure it’s attainable for her like it is for others.  Joanna wants to be everything to everyone and like such she must eventually let someone down but of course as we all know, God is always at work and things aren’t always what they seem to our human minds.

I stayed engrossed in this book long into the night and finished it the next morning – but I always find myself staying up late to read Beverly’s writings as they are so real as well as making feel that I am right there in Hickory Hollow or wherever – I become a part of the story.  I can’t wait till the next one comes out – but don’t worry, these are stand alone and you don’t have to read the one before it, The Fiddler, but I definitely recommend not missing out on coming to Hickory Hollow.

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

 

One response to “The Bridesmaid by Beverly Lewis

  1. […] series was available to review I knew I had to read this one too.  I’ve read The Fiddler and The Bridesmaid, both of which I thoroughly enjoyed so I was happy to return and meet some new characters and […]

Comments are closed.
