GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Fearless Daughters of the Bible by J. Lee Grady

on November 27, 2012

About the book:

Become one of the gifted, empowered women
God is raising up.

Christian women are often led to believe they were created inferior to men, destined to play a secondary role. Proverbs 31 gets morphed into a judgment, the sole standard against which many feel like frauds or failures. But the Bible has much more to say about women!

Looking into the lives of 22 mold-breaking women of the Bible, bestselling author and women’s advocate J. Lee Grady shows that God enables His daughters for amazing–even impossible–exploits. Lee also reveals the empowering, often-overlooked gifts God gives each of His daughters–gifts like wisdom, fruitfulness, boldness and leadership. When women accept and use these gifts, they can live the fearless and beautiful lives of purpose God has ordained for them.

My Opinion:

I was excited to get this book, very excited – I love reading about the women in the Bible who have lived out their faith in God and set the stage for all the women to come.  Then my balloon popped and I became very disenchanted with what the author started saying – it seems that those of us who are “evangelical” are twisting Scripture.  Women should be ministers of churches, we aren’t supposed to be meek, or quiet tempered because if we are then “a woman who is mousy or timid does not reflect the character of Jesus.”  I guess the book description should have set off a few warning bells about how we, Christian women are often led to believe we are inferior – I’d like to know when.  The only time I ever felt inferior to a man was when I was feminist (by the way he calls the five daughters of Zelophehad the first feminists because the requested an inheritance since they didn’t have brothers).

There was some of this book that was enjoyable and I actually got some out of but most of it felt like I was being berated and un-Biblical because I don’t feel that women need to be loud or be pastors in order to serve the Lord or His Kingdom.  He sites some scientific studies and tries to expound on Scripture verses that specially say women should not usurp authority over men and others and says they aren’t saying that but something else entirely different, because Jesus Himself even had women in His ministry.  While this is true they weren’t preaching but serving, I’ve never felt inferior because I don’t want to be a pastor – the greatest ministry I have right now is to be at home educating my children and raising them – this book makes it seem as if that isn’t something noble because I should want a ministry – and if I did I should not limit myself to a children’s ministry.

I can definitely see where this book would be a great read for a Christian who has been made to feel less than and aligns herself with the feminist mindset – however I’ve never experienced this in any church – the women have always been embraced, loved and treated very well, whether they taught Sunday School or only came to worship, women are a vital part of the church.  I feel for the women who have been led astray by a church to feel they are less than a man, we are definitely equal but we have different roles and that is how we were created by our Creator.  This was a book promoting feminism but wrapped in a pretty package and under the guise of Christianity.

**Disclaimer:  I was given a copy of this book from Chosen in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

