GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

How we do school……

on December 4, 2012

I remember the long days of sitting at a desk and not being able to do much – it was boring!  Thankfully I could sit still, I remember class mates who couldn’t sit still and they were always getting sent to the office.  As a child I thought they were bad – now I know that some children just can’t sit still and not for 8+ hours a day.

My oldest would do fine in school, she’d be able to sit still, do her work, do what is expected.  My other two though, not so much, they need to be up and able to move or  play with trucks or dress dolls while I read aloud – I’d be called to the school, they’d recommend medication maybe even forcing us with legal action and label my children.
7E1A222D-59FB-4D6F-8E70-BA91F36A6DE8-9917-00000A89C8DCBF0E, Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Of course, that isn’t the reason we chose to homeschool.  We homeschool because we believe that is what the Lord has commanded us, and all parents to do.  We are to be the ones training them and not just in academics but in learning about the Lord.  We aren’t told to delegate our responsibilities to another person or give up our authority over them for 8+ hours a day – we are told to walk with them along the road, talk to them and teaching them – all day long, not just when they return from school or at church on Sunday.

I think some people have an idea that we ‘play’ school much like children do with their stuffed animals.  I’ve gotten comments about how it must be nice to just take Friday’s off.  I must have a lot of free time on my hands.  Yes, we take Fridays off these are my planning days, because who, really wants to use their weekends to do lesson planning?  We also use Friday as field trip days, doctor appointment days or just days to relax and re-energize.
EF743C11-14CB-4CB0-A87E-70C8AF603F69-9917-00000A89AF687338, Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

 

Lots of free time though, this one is probably the most laughable.  Free time would mean I could sit on the couch and read all the books I have on my Kindle while the children run willy-dilly around me.  Free time would mean that I’m not taking my job as a mom, trainer, educator seriously.  Yes, I do have ‘free time’, often after everyone is in bed and I like it that way.  We aim to get school started between 8:30 and 9a.m. some days maybe 10 – it depends – some days we finish at noon others not until 4p.m. again it depends on what didn’t get done the day before, was someone sick?  In between school there is cleaning that needs done, lunches and meals need made – so free time?  No.

We don’t have a school room, I don’t make my children sit at the kitchen table, and we don’t do everything the same way everyday – except that I ask they do math first so we can move on to more fun subjects!  So how do we do school?

The children can do their work wherever – as long as it gets done.  We’ve done school in waiting rooms, they can do it laying in bed, on the couch, at the kitchen table – anywhere as long as it gets done.  I’ve taught a math lesson while doing dishes and folding laundry.  I read while my son plays with his cars and while my middle daughter dresses her doll babies.  We are flexible.
A2DC7FBA-3F05-4EA1-951A-2AD9132DCBCD-9917-00000A89C22A884F, Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

 

I’m so blessed that I can have my children at home with me so we can do school our way.  A friend asked me about goals – I don’t set goals per se for my children or our school – as long as we get stuff done.  We are almost completely finished with our science and history curriculum for the year!  I do ensure that they are improving and not just staying at their current level – they need to stretch themselves and challenge themselves.  By January, all three will have completed Volume 2 of Mystery of History, Apologia’s Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day.  My oldest will finish her Writing Tales Level 2 and my middle daughter will have finished her 2nd year of Latin.  I’m going to throw Spanish in for all three next year as I’ve slacked on that – and that is my fault, the children have been begging me and they’ll all finish math in March or April.

 

So that is how we do school.

2 responses to “How we do school……

  1. One of the great benefits of home education is that it can be tailored around our children’s and family’s needs.
    You must have been working hard to finish bits of curriculum so early. Do you take a break from the subjects that you have finished or go onto the next year?

    • ohiosarah says:

      Hi Sarah,
      Yes, it is 😀 We began our new year in April and go year round with breaks. We recently took a week and half off due to illness and Thanksgiving and we’ll be breaking again on the 21st until January 2nd. My children have been very motivated as my oldest wants to get through all of Apologia’s elementary science before she moves on to middle school. We just keep going – we’ll take a brief vacation after the last of math is done even though we’ll begin new Latin, MoH, science etc then get right back into the swing of things. We tend not to go out in the summer due to heat so it pays off to do school in the summer during the day and go out in the evenings when it’s a bit cooler.

Comments are closed.
