GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day by Daryl Aaron

on December 8, 2012

About the Book:

Theology can be intimidating, even overwhelming. Where do you start? How is it important to the Christian life? What are the key topics that you need to understand? How do you make time to study something so complex without going to Bible college or seminary?

In Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day, professor and former pastor Daryl Aaron answers forty critical questions about the Christian faith. Arranged by topic, you can choose the areas that interest you or systematically read through the book. Each section is short and easy to understand. You’ll come away with a deeper faith  as you learn about the nature of God, heaven, the Bible, church, and even yourself.

My Opinion:

I love to learn more about theology that surrounds my faith and the Bible and I was really thinking that this would be what I needed, I’m a busy mom who doesn’t have time to wade through theological tomes, but I still even had a hard time getting through this book.  I liked how the different areas were divided so if I wanted to read just about “What are Angels and Demons?” or “Is Jesus Really Coming Back?” – I could just flip to that chapter that I wanted to know more about and read it.

The sections were easily read in under 15 minutes and I think maybe if I hadn’t had tried to read the book all the way through, instead, focusing on the things that interested me the most I may have grasped it better and I may still go back and do that.  I liked how the author did use Scripture to back up and he also used differing beliefs such as those of Calvinists and Armenians and compared them to Scripture.  There are also interesting facts that relate to that theology reading and makes one think a bit more about the past or what it means to us today.

I would have liked to see some other points of view, such as in discussing when Jesus will return (because I know He will), there is a serious implication for Christians that claim that Christ already returned in 70 A.D. (they call themselves Preterists (sp?) ) and I would have liked to hear a little more of that.  However, I know the author’s intent was to make this a book that the busy mom or the busy worker could pick it up and have a bit more understanding in regards to the Christian faith – and he succeeded.

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

One response to “Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day by Daryl Aaron

Comments are closed.
