GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Secrets: Glenbrooke Series #1 by Robin Jones Gunn

on December 29, 2012

About the Book:

Jessica ran from her past…but can she hide from love?

Jessica Morgan wants desperately to forget the past and begin a new life. She chooses a small, peaceful town tucked away in Oregon’s Willamette Valley as the place to start over—Glenbrooke. Once there, Jessica conceals her identity from the intriguing personalities she meets—including the compassionate paramedic who desires to protect her and the jealous woman who wants nothing more than to destroy her.

Will Jessica’s deceit ruin all hope for the future? Or will she find a deeper peace that allows her to stop hiding the truth from those who love her most of all?

This heartwarming bestseller, book one in the Glenbrooke series, introduces the fascinating people of Glenbrooke in a compelling tale of romance and spiritual truth.

My Opinion:

I was introduced to Robin Jones Gunn when I had the pleasure of reading her Sisterchicks series and now I’m pleased to know that I can continue to enjoy Robin’s writing in the Glenbrooke series.  Secrets as the title asserts is about secrets – how they can destroy, how they can kill and ultimately how letting go of secrets can set one free so they are able to live the life God intended for them to live.  As the book begins Jessica is mad at God – she can’t seem to understand why a loving God would let bad things happen, and bad things had happened to Jessica – but as the book unwinds Jessica’s struggle eventually ends, however I’m not going to totally spoil it by telling you how her struggle ends.

There were some slow moments but if you keep going through and reading toward the end you’ll be well rewarded for the effort and I think the slow moments made it seem more real, as not every day in my life is full of climatic events!  This book is written by a Christian author and published by a Christian publishing house so before reading it be aware of that – there will be Christian themes of faith and belief in in – but for me that makes it all the more inspiring and relevant to my life.  I will say I was expecting a BIG secret like she was running from and abusive ex-boyfriend or she had killed someone but the secret isn’t as horrible and is almost innocent once it’s figured out.   I can’t wait to read the other books in this series!

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from Blogging For Books through Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest opinon, no other compensation was given.

If you would please take a moment and visit Blogging for Books to rate my review I’d appreciate it.  Thank you!

