GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

12 Years!

on January 1, 2013

I never believed I’d have been married let alone being married for 12 years!

 

I met hubby in the summer of 2000 – I was still in school, working two jobs and trying to figure out how to make a car payment, rent, utilities, etc.  I was never really taught to budget and such so I also had a mound of credit card debt.

 

He asked to me to marry him between Thanksgiving and Christmas and I agreed and we set the date 1-1-01 at 12:01 a.m.  The date and time were significant at that time.

 

We were married, elopement style, on the banks of the Ohio River on the Kentucky side at one minute after midnight.  No honeymoon as hubby had to be back to work the next day.

 

It hasn’t all been roses and cheer – sometimes it was and still is, downright hard – but divorce isn’t an option (even though he tells me, jokingly, if I bring home another cat he will LOL).  Marriage isn’t easy – with the loss of a baby, homeschooling, scraping by some months so I can continue to stay home, some would say the odds are stacked against us.

 

I’m glad that we’ve made it to 12 years and I hope and pray that the Lord gives us more together as we continue to learn about each other and love one another.

 

 

7 responses to “12 Years!

  1. Tracey says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary Sarah! You’ve been a great example to me of a Godly wife and your friendship is such a blessing, I’ll say a special anniversary prayer for your marriage, God bless you both! 🙂

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you Tracey – you too have been a blessing to us. I will treasure your children singing to us, we’ve never had carolers over here!

  2. Mariah says:

    Congratulations! Here’s to 12 more! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! It is sad, but it seems anyone that can make it to 10 years or more is really the unique few. So 12 years is a big deal. And I”m proud of you for having the courage and determination to say divorce is not an option! It really makes a marriage more special when you are both focused on making it work through the hard times.

  4. Melody says:

    Congrats on 12 years of marriage! Happy anniversary!

  5. Laraba says:

    Congratulations! I love your post. It is REAL. Yes, marriage is very hard work but it is one of God’s great ways to grow us into the people He wants us to be. And of course, God is delighted when a couple is open to children and raises them to know Him. May the Lord bless you with many more years together.

Comments are closed.
