GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss

on January 1, 2013

About the Book:

Singer Ginny Marshall is one signature away from the recording contract of her dreams—a deal that would guarantee success for the former foster child, who still struggles to bury the memories of her painful childhood. But Ginny needs advice from the one person who will look out for her best interests—her former fiancé, Brett Miller. She travels to the remote town of Glacier Bay, Alaska, where the town’s colorful characters and stunning scenery provide respite from LA’s pressures.

In Glacier Bay, Ginny discovers a box of old letters and is swept up in the love story between Clay, an early missionary to Alaska Territory, and Ellie, the woman who traveled there to be his children’s governess. When Ginny is reunited with Brett in Glacier Bay, will she discover—as Ellie did—that healing and love are sometimes found in the most unexpected places?

You can buy the book at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Books A Million, and Christian Book Distributors.

About Ocieanna:

I’m a wife and mom of four. Discover ongoing insights from my mom adventure on my Mommy-O blog as well as at MOPS.org. As for writing, fiction is my first love. I’m blessed to express this passion in two novels I co-authored with Tricia Goyer, Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana, and Love Finds You in Victory Heights, Washington. I enjoy nonfiction as well. My work in progress at the moment is a book about my cardiac arrest called, Loving Your Kids Like There’s No Tomorrow. I also edited both fiction and nonfiction for WinePress Publishers for over eight years. My passion for fiction is rivaled by my love of speaking. I enjoy sharing my recent tale, sparked from the cardiac arrest, also called “Loving Your Kids Like There’s No Tomorrow” with MOPS or any parenting groups. I also offer women’s retreat talks. I studied the Bible for over twenty years by attending seminary classes, listening to lectures, and sitting under strong teaching at a Bible-believing church. I also taught the Old Testament for two years. To see detailed descriptions of my talks or for more information about having me speak at your event, check out the Speaking page.

About Tricia:

Tricia Goyer is a busy mom of four, grandmother of one, and wife to John. Somewhere around the hustle and bustle of family life, she manages to find the time to write fictional tales delighting and entertaining readers and non-fiction titles offering encouragement and hope. A bestselling author, Tricia has published thirty-three books to date and has written more than 500 articles. She is a two time Carol Award winner, as well as a Christy and ECPA Award Nominee. In 2010, she was selected as one of the Top 20 Moms to Follow on Twitter by SheKnows.com. Tricia is also on the blogging team at MomLifeToday.comTheBetterMom.com and other homeschooling and Christian sites.

In addition to her roles as mom, wife and author, Tricia volunteers around her community and mentors teen moms. She is the founder of Hope Pregnancy Ministries in Northwestern Montana, and she currently leads a Teen MOPS Group in Little Rock, AR. Tricia, along with a group of friends, recently launched www.NotQuiteAmishLiving.com, sharing ideas about simplifying life. She also hosts the weekly radio podcast, Living Inspired. Learn more about Tricia at www.triciagoyer.com.

My Opinion:

I’ve had the pleasure of reading Tricia Goyer’s books before and now I can add that its been a distinct pleasure to add Ocieanna Fleiss’ name to my list of favorite authors.  I recently was chosen to be a part of Tricia Goyer’s 2013 Fiction Launch Team and in doing so I and many other ladies will have the pleasure of receiving Tricia’s books before they are released to the general public and the first one is Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska – and I must say that having ended the year 2012 with this book makes me want to urge you to begin 2013 with this wonderful book!

I’ve always wanted to see Alaska but even when I was stationed in Washington state I never did make it – one of these days I’ll convince my family to take a vacation to the last frontier – but for now, I’ll live vicariously through Ocieanna and Tricia’s eyes.  As soon as I began the book I was pulled into Ginny’s world – one where a young lady is confused about life and herself as I was when I was young, so I could relate to her struggles to overcome her fears.  From the get go I was cheering for her to find her ex-fiance and get back together with him as the reader can feel that Ginny isn’t cut out for the fame and fortune she thinks she desires.

One of the best parts of this story was the secondary plot line with letters that are written by and too an Ellie – who has long been gone but the letters speak a soothing balm to Ginny’s hurting heart and allows her to see what God wants for her and her life.  I felt like I was actually visiting Alaska, smelling the pine, the earth, the mud and the sounds of roaming bears and moose.  The wonderful plot, the romance without the blushing and the well researched details had me wrapped up in this book that I was able to read in one day – it was and is a page turner and one I’m so glad to highly recommend to my readers!

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book as part of the Tricia Goyer 2013 Fiction Launch Team in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

18 responses to “Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss

  1. […] Love Finds You in Glacier Bay, Alaska by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss Jan […]

  2. Im currently reading this book, and its so good! =)
    I enjoyed your review!

  3. Leslie Thomas says:

    Loved the review and have heard so many on FB say how good the book is…
    Would love to win…

  4. Scarlett says:

    Well, I hesitate to admit this, but I’d love to win because I’ve never read any of these two authors’ books. (gasp, I know!) 🙂

  5. Karilyn says:

    I have loved other books in this series. I love all the work & research that has been put into them!

  6. I read review and have been reading books written by Tricia for a while now. I would love to win this new book!!!!

  7. Jackie Tessnair says:

    I want to read this book so bad,Thanks for sharing

  8. Katie Johnson says:

    I would love to win this book. The review looks great. Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. Andrea Williams says:

    I like to read books that take place in unusual settings.

  10. Elizabeth Dent says:

    I would love to win this book on your contest .

  11. Beth C says:

    The reviews look very good and I have always enjoyed Tricia Goyer’s books.

  12. Debbie says:

    The letters intrigued me immediately. I also love that it is a story about a missionary. Also, I have a friend living in Alaska now and it would be great to read this book that centers around her current home. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  13. Jasmine Augustine says:

    I would like to read this book because it’s a Tricia Goyer and because it’s about ALASKA!

  14. fushiacat says:

    I would like to win this book because the story line sound really good!

    ischu9@aol.com

  15. Melissa P. says:

    I want to win for two reasons–I’m a huge bookworm and I dream of visiting Alaska someday.

  16. Merry says:

    I am a fan of LFY books and I love Alaska settings.

  17. Elizabeth says:

    I’d like to read this book because I enjoy Christian fiction and I don’t think I’ve ever read one set in Alaska.

Comments are closed.
