GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Honey the Hero by Emlyn Chand

on January 11, 2013

About the Book:

Honey, an inquisitive, young parakeet living in the Australian Outback, decides to become a superhero after she spies a human family watching Superman. Since she already has the power of flight, all she needs to do is create a costume to conceal her true identity and then fly off in search of animals that need rescuing.

Unfortunately, every time she tries to help, Honey only ends up making matters worse. She spoils Kangaroo’s game of hide-and-go-seek by revealing his hiding place to Wallaby; Mr. Anteater must go hungry when she alerts the ants to his presence, and Mrs. Koala is made a laughingstock among bears when Honey pretends to be her Joey. Finally realizing that she’s not as heroic as she’d like, Honey gives up her day-saving efforts.

But what happens when someone actually needs Honey’s help? Will she rise to the challenge?

About Emlyn:

Emlyn Chand emerged from the womb with a fountain pen clutched in her left hand (true story). When she’s not writing, she runs a large book club in Ann Arbor and is the president of author PR firm Novel Publicity. Best known for her Young Adult novels, she is also developing a small, but devoted, following to her children’s book series and is beginning to dabble in other genres as well. Emlyn enjoys connecting with readers and is available via almost every social media site in existence. Visit EmlynChand for more info. Don’t forget to say “hi” to her sun conure Ducky!  You can also visit her at Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.

My Opinion:

If you remember I had the chance to review Emlyn’s other book, Poppy the Proud in December and while I had concerns at first about it not being Christian those concerns were quickly laid to rest – which is exactly what has happened with Honey the HeroHoney is a cute little parakeet who lives in the adventurous Outback and runs into animals that seem to need her help but her wanting to be a hero soon becomes a thing of the past when she messes up several ‘rescues’ – so what is a bird to do that has a costume and wants to save the day but can’t?

I won’t spoil the rest of the book for you – which I hope you’ll discover the colorful illustrations and flowing text with your child – so grab your own copy.  Like my review of Poppy the Proud I tend to view the books I read through my Christian worldview and I’m happy to say that this book is a great way to introduce what can happen when super heroes – real or fake – become larger than life and put on a pedestal, so it’s great to explore some character building issues in the older child and for the younger child to begin to help them discern when someone really needs help before diving in.

All three of my children enjoyed this book even my almost 11 year old and it was great in keeping my children engaged while at a doctor’s appointment – and the doctor was quite amused at my trying out an Aussie accent!  The illustrations are whimsical, almost like a comic book but not quite as childish so it’s good for children and adults alike.  I can’t wait to read more of Emlyn Chand’s books as they are becoming a bit hit in this house!

**Disclaimer:  I was given an e-copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

