GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Review: For Girls Like You Magazine

on January 29, 2013

I’ve been on the look out for a magazine for my daughters for awhile – I wanted a good, strong Christian magazine that allowed them to be girls, have fun and bask in the Lord’s love so when I had the chance to receive some issues of For Girls Like You  I jumped at the chance so I could introduce my girls to this publication.  For Girls Like You is a quarterly magazine geared for girls ages 6 to 11 years old and is unashamedly Christian in it’s viewpoint as well as very girly!

The founder of the magazine is Wynter and she knows girls because she is a mom to four of them and she wanted to make Christian values accessible and understandable to girls – and I will say that she is succeeding.  The magazines held both of my girls, almost 11 and 8, attention and they devoured them as soon as they arrived in the mail.  They are colorful and modern but chock full of Scriptural advice and how to have fun being a girl who loves God.

Each issue is different and has different features, one had a short interview with the girls from We Bought a Zoo, When I Grow Up is a section on girls pursuing God’s dream for them whether it’s a missionary or a prosthetic maker if it’s a girl who is following what God wants her to do and be they can be featured.  Around the world, what are you wearing and Sprinkles are just a few of the fun features in this magazine – Sprinkles are also where girls can draw or write and then submit to the magazine for a chance to be featured in it!

Craft ideas, recipes, puzzles, fashion (don’t worry moms, it’s all modest 🙂  ) makes this a magazine that almost all girls will enjoy.  Even though my girls are so different they both found items in the magazine that related to them in their own way and it’s all about honoring God and being the girls that God wants them to be – both now and in the future.  You can order a 1 year subscription (4 issues) for $18.99, a 2 year for $29.99 or individual issues if you want to try it first for $3.99.

For Girls Like You isn’t just a magazine though there is a journal, which Wynter also sent and I have to say it’s beautiful.  Spiral bound with the NIV version of Psalm 139 and then scattered through out the lined pages are the verses and pictures that go along with them in black and white so your girl can color and decorate as she feels led.  She can use it for a prayer book or use it for devotions, the options are only limited by her imagination.

If you’d like a chance to enter to win a 1 year subscription for your daughter or grand-daughter or other girl in your life visit An Ohio Reviewing Mom for the Rafflecopter form!

**Disclaimer:  I was provided four copies and the journal from Wynter of For Girls Like You in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.  Images above come from For Girls Like You.

8 responses to “Review: For Girls Like You Magazine

  1. Thank you so much for this incredible review! I appreciate your encouraging words!! Blessings!

  2. Scarlett says:

    I would love to win this for my 7 y/o daughter!

  3. I’d be very interested! I have 3 girls (and 2 boys) and I’ve been looking for a girls magazine. 🙂

  4. My girls would love this, especially my oldest (11)! Thanks for the chance to win.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Our daughter loves this magazine. We have shared it with all her friends.

  6. eryn hall says:

    Awesome! My daughter just turned 8. She loves God, magazines, and “girl talk”! 🙂 Perfect!

  7. Juanita says:

    I have 3 granddaughters ages 6-10 who would love receiving this magazine 🙂

Comments are closed.
