GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Tyndale Review: Les Miserables Audio Drama

on February 4, 2013

About the Drama:

Les Misirables has been called the most important novel of the 19th century. It’s a tale of war and revolution, a touching love story, and a tale with some of the most memorable characters you’ll find in any work of fiction. Most of all, it’s a story about a desperate thief whose life is changed forever when a kind bishop, catching him in the act of stealing precious silver, forgives him. Accustomed to living only for himself, Jean Valjean becomes a kindhearted man who helps a dying woman, cares for her child as if she were his own…and puts his life on the line to help an innocent stranger.

Les Misirables tells of the triumph of good over evil, of love over hatred, and of mercy over the letter of the law. 169 Minutes. 3 CDs.

My Opinion:

I first read Les Miserables in middle school, yes middle school – my mind wasn’t capable of handling the books that most of my peers were reading – I need large tomes to keep and garner my attention.  I didn’t read the abridged version but the whole entire 1,000+ page book.  I have taken in the movie version but haven’t been fortunate enough to take in a live show but not one to let that get me down – I now can bask in the audio drama version which has a lively full cast, excellent sound effects that rivaled even the movie and a musical score.

 

In the set you get 169 minutes on three CD’s and your attention will be held the entire time as you listen to this audio version of a timeless classic.  I had no issues in keeping the voices separated while listening, although my oldest said she did however my 8 year old did not.  Yes, I allowed my children to listen to the whole presentation – my 8 year old also wants me to read aloud the book!  There was shock when the word prostitute was mentioned but it was to show how low Fantine had sunk in order to provide for Cosette.  My children were saddened by the deaths and if I hadn’t been driving our van I would have been crying.

 

Les Miserables isn’t something one can read or listen too without a dry eye, unless you’re driving, as the emotions are as real as when Hugo wrote it the lessons of redemption, love, loss and forgiveness as well as despair and more are something that we all can relate too whether it’s the 1800’s or the 2000’s.  Listening to this wonderful audio from Focus on the Family Radio Theatre will take you on a ride that will ultimately show what God is capable of doing, even if we can’t see His work.

 

**Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of the CD set from Tyndale Media Network in exchange for my honest review, no other compensation was given.

