GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

CWA Review: Carrie and Bandit (Book 2 Sonrise Stables) by Vicki Watson

on February 21, 2013

ISBN: 978-0984724215
List Price: $9.95
Format: Softcover
Page Count: 149

Carrie and Bandit continues where Rosie and Scamper left off.

Carrie can’t believe it—she has a horse of her own and is only weeks away from being adopted by the most loving family she’s ever known. But Bandit is harder to manage than she first imagined—and the adoption might not go as smoothly as she thought either. When a bad decision jeopardizes everything, Carrie learns what it means to be forgiven and truly loved.

 

My love of horses began when a teenage neighbor offered me my first ride, on the back of her horse. From my 8-year-old perspective, it seemed like the biggest horse in the world. From that moment on, I was addicted. Horses were to become a very important part of my life, although I never could have imagined, at the time, how much God would teach me about Himself and my relationship to Him through these wonderful animals.

The Sonrise Stable series combines my love of God and horses in stories that I hope will help children learn more about both. I have a vision for ten initial books in the series, taking the main characters through one year. Beyond that I’ll see where God leads me.

I have been blessed with three daughters and homeschooled each of them through high school. I enjoy trail riding my Rocky Mountain mare, Nikki, hiking, photography, and playing guitar. I work from home as a and computer programmer and enjoy the variety and flexibility that allows.

 

My Opinion:

 

We have not read the 1st book in the series, Rosie and Scamper, but even with that disadvantage this book was still a delight to read to my children – all of whom enjoyed it, including my 6 year old son.  Even with not reading the first book, it was easily understood what was going on in the book in regards to Carrie’s adoption, their being Christians and homeschoolers.  Although I would very much like to read the first book with my children sometime – and read the other books that follow in the series.

 

My children have never been fascinated by horses – not like I was – to me it was my girl hood dream to own a horse – while my children like horses they’ve never asked for one of their own.  Regardless, the information given about horses comes forth naturally and provides and educational reading experience in a fictional book – great for children who may not otherwise know or get to know horses.  The fact that the girls are homeschooled was also an added bonus, although I’m not sure how Carrie was able to be homeschooled without being officially adopted first – but I chalked that up to it being fiction, but this book isn’t just for homeschoolers, I’m sure that other children regardless of their school situation will enjoy the book.

 

We read the book aloud after we were done with school and spent about a week in reading it.  We probably would have gone faster, as we all were engrossed in the story line, but sometimes life happens and gets in the way.  At this time there are four books in the series and I really hope to get the other three (also available in Kindle and ePub versions as well as physical books) books to read with my children.  There are also illustrations scattered throughout the book which helps to break up some of the longer chapters and provide a good way to picture what is going on with the girls.  You can visit the Sonrise Stables site to get more information, read more reviews or to purchase the books.

 

**Disclaimer:  I’m a part of the CWA Review Crew and I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.

2 responses to “CWA Review: Carrie and Bandit (Book 2 Sonrise Stables) by Vicki Watson

  1. […] had the chance to review book 2, Carrie and Bandit, earlier this year and even though we jumped into the series without reading the first book it was […]

  2. […] building and faith filled books written for children of all ages, boys and girls.  I’ve read Carrie and Bandit and Clothed With Thunder – and both of those leave you wanting more of the story of Rosie and […]

Comments are closed.
