GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Finis! (Latin for The End)

on February 25, 2013

We began our school year in April 2012 and we are now at the end of February 2013 – this was also our first year of year round schooling, which has gone very well and allows us to take Fridays off for planning, errands, field trips or whatever needs to be done that.  We’ve covered much ground – having completed the entire text of Apologia’s Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day by December of 2012 and moving on to Apologia’s Swimming Creatures of which we are already in week 4!

 

 

We also finished Mystery of History Volume 2 last week!  Which was bittersweet, we all enjoy Mystery of History and the fact that it comes from a Creationist, young earth and Christ centered perspective makes it all the better.  The children enjoyed learning about Roger Bacon (mainly they enjoyed his last name), I enjoyed learning about Johannes Gutenberg (I’ll let my readers come up with the reason for that!) my oldest enjoyed learning about Joan of Arc.

My son holding up our finished timeline – while the oldest takes a picture.

A bit of an up close – yes we had lots of lines left so I know to spread them out more during MoH 3

Along with completing Volume 2 we also completed the time line, which we didn’t do with Volume 1, I’m disappointed we didn’t but we’ll cycle back through again later and will do it then.  Our timeline looks lovely – the only thing I did (with hubby’s help) was to cover it in the contact paper and put the duct tape strips on – the children decorated the figures themselves, I like knowing it’s their timeline versus my perfect one that I would have tried to make.  It’ll be a keepsake for years to come!

 

The children participating in the experiment of how well sound travels – using yarn and Styrofoam cups. It was fun and was much like the telephones I’d make as a child.

 

The other item of note that was finished last week was my oldest DD’s Writing Tales Level 2 – I made a deal with her that if she’d work on the Poetry course I’d been given to review, she could be done with three weeks early with Writing Tales.  She liked that idea.  Also my middle daughter finished her 2nd year of Latin!  She now knows 4 prayers in Latin, lots of vocabulary and declensions.  I’ll be drilling her on this until we start her new Latin in April.

 

Our assessment is already scheduled which makes me happy and I’m am so glad that our year has gone so well and I look forward to keeping on keeping on!

4 responses to “Finis! (Latin for The End)

  1. What a great update – and it sounds like your year went well!

  2. Jen says:

    Sounds like a wonderful year! Congrats!!! 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a great year. It is so exciting when you get to the end of a book.

Comments are closed.
