GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Inspiring the American Dream: Abraham’s Journey by Robert and Kathleen Basmadjian

on February 28, 2013

I’ve heard of the American Dream but have never been sure what it really is, so when I looked more into it, I found it’s basically a set of standards that allows for the opportunity of success and prosperity through hard work.  Of course everyone’s American Dream is going to be different – one’s dream may to be rich and have a large house while another may be to save enough money to take a foreign mission trip.  Inspiring the American Dream seeks to help this generation re-realize what the American Dream is and they seek to do that through the book Abraham’s Journey.

I was very excited to get this book to read with my three children, ages 11, 8 and 6, however my excitement quickly turned to apprehension as I began the book.  The book takes place during the Great Recession, both mom and dad have lost their jobs so they are explaining to their children that there won’t be any Christmas presents – they’ll still put up a tree, decorate, sing Christmas songs, but there won’t be presents.  Abraham wants to ‘save’ Christmas by buying presents for his mom, dad and sister – so he gets on his smart phone to text his friends about job openings – and out pops Abraham Lincoln who takes him on a “cyber” journey to meet the people who have obtained the ‘American Dream’.

Abraham takes Abraham to meet with people like Martin Luther King, Jr., Norman Rockwell (who likes Abraham’s talent with art), Amelia Earhart, the Gates’, and Mark Zuckerberg.  After meeting these people and being given different ideas of what generates the American Dream, Abraham paints and sells his pictures, and he surprises his parents and sister on Christmas morning by saving Christmas.  The family also visit a homeless shelter in which they drop off items like blankets, books and money.

All three of my children were asking, if his parents don’t have a job why does he have a smart phone? as well as why does he need a smart phone to begin with?  The most stirring item of note that all my children noticed was the fact that Christmas needed saving – my children were somewhat upset that the children in the story thought Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without presents.  Also, one of my issues with the book was the fact of those who are esteemed in the book, with the exception of one – maybe two the other people who are featured are not my idea of the American Dream – what about the farmers, the nurses, the social workers, those in the Armed Forces – I could go on.

Abraham’s Journey can be bought for $14.99 but at just 32 pages in paperback form, I think it’s a steep price for a book that leaves out whatever faith Abraham was supposed to have – unless it’s faith in only himself.  All the striving for the American Dream and the source of the Dream is left out and I think this quote from the book on page 5 which says; “However, you must understand that you…and only you…are capable of making that dream come true” sums up the fact that the American Dream is something that a person is responsible for with no help from the Lord.  Abraham’s Journey is geared for ages 8 to 12 year old children.

You can read what other home school parents have to say by visiting the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

**Disclaimer:  I recieved a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.  All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family.  I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

Photobucket

