GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FlyBy Promotions Review: Roma Downey’s Little Angels: Prayers for Every Day (and giveaway)

on March 12, 2013

About the Book:

Little Angels Prayers for Every Day features more than 50 simple rhyming prayers that cover a typical day and the typical worries of a young child. From waking in the morning to going to sleep at night, from thanking God for a meal to praying for His comfort when afraid, the prayers here will help little ones to see that any moment is a good moment to talk to God. Relevant Bible verses are scattered throughout the book as well!

My Opinion:

I grew up watching Touched By An Angel and my family and I still enjoy itso when I had the chance to review this book by Roma Downey I wanted to check it out.  That being said, I know there is much controversy regarding Roma Downey, her beliefs and the DVD’s titled Little Angels – and I will admit that is why I am late in posting my review for this book because I was not aware of this until after I received the book.   I have not seen the videos so I am not commenting on that, but only on the book and I’m not commenting on Roma Downey’s beliefs because I simply don’t know enough about her or her relationship with Christ to comment – so please keep that in mind as you read what I thought of this book.

I enjoyed Prayers for Every Day, which are aimed at young children to be able to pray to God – the One True God, in my opinion is the only God being prayed to in this book.  The prayers rhyme so that children will find them easy to say and also to memorize if parents decide to have them do so for the sake of having a prayer to recite when they are in need of something to pray in thanks, praise, at bedtime, in the morning and more.  One prayer reads:

“Dear Jesus, I’m done with yet another day

and I’m very tired.  But I just really want to

say that you are so admired!  Amen!”

Using simple language that is easy for young children to pronounce and remember makes this is a good book to instill a prayer life into children, which is great since so many people today are lacking a real, vibrant prayer life.  Also sprinkled through out the board book style pages are Scripture that can be read to the child as well, to give them a budding love of the Word.  There are cute pictures as well, some of them depicting children doing every day things like playing and others of angels that resemble children as angels – cherubs, is what they’d be called I assume.

That being said – I enjoyed the book, I know it may not be for everyone, and if you have conflict in you that is from the Holy Spirit then follow that, however I did not receive any leading from the Holy Spirit in reading this book and allowing my children to read it and with that I will say that I would recommend the book, keeping in mind I have not seen the videos and this is only about the book.

**Disclaimer:  “I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I am hosting a giveaway where one winner will win their own copy of Little Angels: Prayers for Every Day.

Enter at An Ohio Reviewing Mom.

2 responses to “FlyBy Promotions Review: Roma Downey’s Little Angels: Prayers for Every Day (and giveaway)

  1. Micki says:

    What is the link to your other blog?

Comments are closed.
