GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging through the Alphabet: A is for Allegiance

on March 18, 2013

You probably remember I started doing this last year and well got behind and just sort of dropped out.  So I’m back and going to try to do better with the Blogging through the Alphabet series over at Ben and Me:
Blogging Through the Alphabet

It took me awhile to think of what word I wanted to use – I know I could just choose an ‘a’ word but that doesn’t require much thought, then my children started throwing out words like adorable, abominable, and the like but they weren’t like A-Ha words.  I have to say you should really read Dawn’s post using her ‘a’ word over at Guiding Light Homeschool – it’s great.

So my word is allegiance – yes, most probably know what allegiance is – most of us say it without thinking much about what it means when we say the Pledge of Allegiance or give our loyalty to something or someone else.  The most short and succinct definition of allegiance is loyalty.  So what should we be loyal to?

I’ve struggled with allegiance’s – as a Navy veteran, a descendant of a long line of military minded men, as an American and firstly as a Christian.  I struggle every time I have to say to the Pledge of Allegiance, when people think my loyalty should reside with them or in something else.  Some think my allegiance should be to this country, some think it should be to the homeschooling community, or to 4H, etc.  I’m not saying having loyalty is bad – it makes us stronger and allows us to follow through and be committed but what I’m thinking specifically is when your allegiance becomes your god instead of allegiance to the true God, your loyalty lays elsewhere.

Sort of like the Israelites wandering in the desert – they took their loyalty and gave it to a golden calf and along the way, other false idols.  God doesn’t like this or approve this – He wants all our loyalty, our allegiance lies only in Him.  If we make our country, our groups, our families our god then we’ve put our allegiance in the wrong thing, the wrong Person.  There were early Christians who were charged with treason because they wouldn’t give their allegiance to Caesar but only to Jesus Christ (Acts 17:7 NLT).  Could you lay down your loyalty to your country knowing that the penalty for treason is death?  The early Christians did – because they put all their allegiance in the Lord.

Now, I’m not saying you should or shouldn’t say a Pledge or shouldn’t join the military – that is between you and the Lord.  What I am saying is that we all need to look at what we are loyal too, what have let become our god – we all have let something become our god at some point – it could be having the next best electronic toy or something as simply as the word ‘yes’ never being able to say ‘no’ because yes makes you look like a better Christian.  Where does your allegiance lie?

Does it lie in what others think?

Does it lie in the foods you won’t eat?

Does it lie in your country?

Does it in lie in exercising?

To the group you and your children belong to?

Or, does it, lie where it ultimately counts?  With the Lord, His Kingdom and His Word?

5 responses to “Blogging through the Alphabet: A is for Allegiance

  1. What a GREAT post! Love your word…and what you shared. Thought provoking too. {{hugs}} my friend.

  2. Brittney says:

    FANTASTIC post, Sarah!

  3. Jen says:

    Great post Sarah!!!

  4. Laura says:

    Hmmm. Really makes me think!

Comments are closed.
