GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

18

on March 24, 2013

I’m sorry I haven’t given an update lately on my exercising and such – it’s been going well.  I went to the Dr last week and hope to have a call tomorrow or at the latest by Wednesday.  She told me based on my weight loss that the chances are good we can at least decrease my metformin.  The plan is if my A1C is in the low 6’s I can off of it completely but if it’s in the high 6’s she’ll keep me on the pill 1X a day versus two.  If that is the case I’ll get rechecked in a couple months.  My last A1C in July last year was 7.0 – not good.  Now I weigh 20+ pounds less, exercising daily and limiting calories and carbs.

 

Remember my post on Some Honesty and Progress?  You might want to take a look at those pictures BEFORE you look at the newest one.  Here is some more honesty – the skirt in the first post that my daughter took on 2/4/13 is a size 22W.  The other skirt in the post for Progress is a 2X.  They are both too big on me.  Not in a fall down around the ankles but definitely much looser!  So my hubby took us to Goodwill and here is my new skirt –

 

This is me, today 3/24/13, 12 weeks AFTER the first picture taken on February 4!

 

The skirt is a size 18!  I’ve never been a single digit girl, even when I was in the Navy I always ran between a 10 and 12 depending on the maker and cut.  The last time I wore single digits I was probably a single digit age.  My new blouse is still a 3X because I need to have my shirts larger.  I still have a bit of a mommy pouch but it’s getting smaller.  I’m so excited about my size 18 – I’ll still be wearing my 22 and my 2X skirts – who has money to replace a whole wardrobe but maybe soon I’ll be needing to purchase a belt!

 

I’m still measuring my food – I actually find it kind of fun – yeah, I know I’m weird.  I like knowing what exactly and how much is going in my body.  I’m now at only 1,410 calories a day.  My BP at the Dr the other day was 122/78 – it’s usually elevated in the office due to ‘white coat syndrome’ but she was getting worried – now she’s happy.  Me too.  My heart doesn’t feel like it’s coming out of my chest when I walk up a flight of stairs.  I’ve also submitted my registration for my first ever 5K!!!  I’m looking forward to walking this come April 20th – I’m EXCITED!!!  I’ve told hubby, next up is an ironman, well someday.

 

I have added in a daily multi-vitamin and I’m awaiting the results to find out if I need to add more Vitamin D and I recently read an article where people who exercise need more Vitamin C than usual because of the free radicals released from the physical activity.

 

Also, I’ve got to give credit where credit is due – the Lord!  Seriously, while others may see it as me being the one to exercise, watch my food intake, etc – it’s all the Lord.  He is the One who gives me the strength on the mornings that I don’t feel like working out or the days I just want to eat a whole pizza on my own.  He keeps me going and I know my temple is becoming the better for it.  I also want to say thank you to those who are continuing to encourage me, my husband, my children, my mom (my dad hasn’t seen me yet!) as well as all my friends on Facebook that I know IRL and virtually who build me up and give me encouragement.  I also love to hear that others are considering doing a 5K or getting moving in some way because of my story.

 

It may sound cliche but it’s hard – I didn’t put this weight on overnight or in a month or several months and it’s not going to be easy.  I haven’t hit that plateau yet – it’ll come – the Lord will get me over it and through it.  I cannot begin to convey through this blog post how GREAT I feel!!!!!  I feel like my mind works better, the winter blues I usually get have not been as bad as in the past, I just feel good.  The decision has to be yours and listen to the Lord – He is the one who ultimately woke me up in February and said, get moving!  He knew I was sick and tired of being sick and tired, He is guiding me and He will guide you too – we don’t have to be a prisoner to food, to our overweight bodies – that is a lie from Satan!

5 responses to “18

  1. I am so proud of you and all of the changes you have made and I am happy to call you my friend. I cannot wait in 11 days the 4 of us are going to have so much fun at GHC.

  2. Micki says:

    I am soooooooo proud of you but I miss you sooooooooo verrrrrrrrry much! I wish I could see the wonderful progress you are making in person but I know when we plan a trip for either you here to WV or me back “home” to Ohio I am just going to be BLOWN away at your “in person” progress! You are almost catching up to my mark of 30 lbs – and I’m with ya, as the weight comes off, you feel sooooo much better! Now I need to start listening to the Holy Spirits gentle prompting again and get back on the bandwagon and lose another 10-15 lbs and I will be 130-135 (I haven’t been there since 1997, LOL!). Seriously, you are doing great and I love and miss ya!

  3. Laraba says:

    Ooh, happy dance here! That is GREAT! Congratulations and I am so impressed with your diligence and faithfulness and dependence on the Lord in this journey. You are also modeling wonderful things to your kids.

    Ok, gotta run now and help a boy peel a potato.

  4. Whoo hoo!! Congratulations, you look great! Even better, you feel great. I’m so happy for you!

  5. Jen says:

    That’s wonderful! I know how you feel trying to decrease those meds. I am on the same journey right there with you! Have a blessed day and you look beautiful in your new skirt!

Comments are closed.
