GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FlyBy Review: What I Wish I Knew At 18: Life Lessons for the Road Ahead by Dennis Trittin (review and giveaway)

on April 1, 2013

About the Book:

What I Wish I Knew at 18: Life Lessons for the Road Ahead is a comprehensive preparation guide to a successful launch into adulthood. It is filled with practical, before-the fact wisdom and based on the qualities and methods of honorable leaders. Written in a conversational style, the book serves as a life coach for young adults and as a leader’s guide for all who mentor them along their journey (parents, relatives, educators, faith leaders, mentors, and coaches). Its 109 success pointers span deeper subjects such as life perspective, character, relationships, communication, adversity, and spiritual life along with the key decisions they will face (e.g, college academics, career, marriage, and finances). It has thusly been described as a “Cliff Notes to a successful life.”

My Opinion:

I like getting books that may help me in teaching my children things they should know before they fly the nest, I can teach them many things, things based on my life experiences – but some things I can’t so I need to read up on some so I can teach them.  That is what I was hoping to get out of What I Wish I Knew and for the most part this book was a good introduction to what children should know like character, spiritual life, handling adversity, college, love and marriage, and more.  However, I too think some of the things will also depend on your worldview and how you approach life because of that worldview.  Some things, like college or career advancement, are not the end all and be all of some families – and that is okay, some may prefer an apprenticeship over college.

Whereas managing finances and character (reputations) should be carefully taught and groomed so that children can learn what they need to do to handle these traits – unless they want to lose a house or have their car repossessed.  My issue in the book came when it came down to choosing a spouse – you need to date using his “3D” method: discriminating, discerning and deliberate – good things indeed, but it was all about dating and nothing about courtship or even allowing God to chose your spouse.  He does stress that marriage is a forever decision – that I can appreciate.

The next area of concern for me was about children – you should only have children when married (yes!) and ready.  This means you should not be newlyweds and wanting to become pregnant and if you can’t afford children you should wait.  Last I looked, no one can afford children – but they definitely make one richer for having them.  Again, this comes down to worldview, if you’re raised in a family who welcomes children as blessings and not see them as financial burdens then chances are you will know that newlyweds can and have had children and their marriages survive (if they don’t then it’s a lack or maturity on the married couple’s side).  ‘Poor’ people have been having children for a long time and usually those children grow up to be very well adjusted and contributing members of society.  Of course, if you grew up in a family who only welcomed children as they could be afforded or seen as burdens then it’ll be no problem to either not have children or use some form of birth control.  Check the Bible – it talks a lot about children and what the Lord thinks of them.  Overall, a decent book with some good ideas, but one that I would read in close study of the Bible to make sure what is being said is of sound Biblical worldview.

 

To win your own copy of this book, visit An Ohio Reviewing Mom, and fill out the Rafflecopter form!

 

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One response to “FlyBy Review: What I Wish I Knew At 18: Life Lessons for the Road Ahead by Dennis Trittin (review and giveaway)

  1. Regina says:

    I would love to read this book.

Comments are closed.
