GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: The Gospel Centered Woman by Wendy Alsup

on April 9, 2013

About the Book:

Many Christian books written to women claim to present God’s good instructions for their lives. Some expound on the value of marriage and children. Many extol the virtues of the Proverbs 31 wife. A good number teach the value of love, submission, and respect in Christian marriages. Though this book deals with these topics, The Gospel-Centered Woman addresses women from an entirely different perspective. The most important part of the Bible’s instructions to women center around the gospel. Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection brought about a seismic shift in our understanding of Scripture. After His resurrection, His disciples understood words written thousands of years before with a clarity they never had previously. The good news of Christ illuminates all other Scripture, including instructions to women.

You may purchase the book on Amazon.

About Wendy Alsup:

Wendy Alsup is a wife, mom, and math teacher. She is the author of “Practical Theology for Women: How Knowing God Makes a Difference in Our Daily Lives” and “By His Wounds You are Healed: How the Message of Ephesians Transforms a Woman’s Identity”.

You can find out more about Wendy by visiting her website.

My Opinion:

Usually when I begin a book like this I do so tentatively, so as not to get my hopes up – because most of the time I find books like Wendy’s to be filled with ‘Christian’ feminism and other un-biblical views.  However, this was not the case with Wendy’s book as it spoke to me, like I haven’t been spoken to in a long time through a book that is written by a woman for women who want to know how the Gospel applies to them, not just some feel-good-Sunday-School-Gospel.  I must say one should not read it at night before bed because there was some things I missed because of reading at night, while the chapters are short and easy to read this isn’t an easy read – it’s one with depth and lots of Scripture that you’re going to want to look up to test her words against Scripture.

There was so much in this book that I never about the Gospel and how it relates to me such as the Gospel provides sanctuary, equips us to forgive and be forgiven, the Bible is It’s own best commentary and more, including Proverbs 31 thoughts (this is the one I’ll have to re-read as having read it before falling asleep wasn’t a good idea).  This book may be just what you’re looking for if you want to rest in the Lord, to know that whether your single or married, with or without children, widowed, divorced – that there is a purpose for you in the Gospel and as women we need to know more than just “Jesus died for us” as women there are days we need to feel it.

One response to “Litfuse Publicity: The Gospel Centered Woman by Wendy Alsup

  1. Niki S. says:

    Thanks for this review. I am putting it on my read list. I really need some inspirational spiritual guidance right now and I hope this book will get me refocused.

Comments are closed.
