GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: Lead Your Family Like Jesus by Ken Blanchard, Phil Hodges, and Tricia Goyer (review)

on April 16, 2013

About the book:

(Focus on the Family/Tyndale) – Does your family need a five-star general at the helm? A psychologist? A referee? Ken Blanchard, best-selling co-author of The One Minute Manager and Lead Like Jesus, points to a better role model: the Son of God. Joined by veteran parents and authors Phil Hodges and Tricia Goyer, renowned business mentor Blanchard shows how every family member benefits when parents take the reins as servant-leaders. Moms and dads will see themselves in a whole new light-as life-changers who get their example, strength, and joy from following Jesus at home. This user-friendly book’s practical principles and personal stories mark the path to a truly Christ-centered family, where integrity, love, grace, self-sacrifice, and forgiveness make all the difference.

You can buy the book at Amazon.

About Ken Blanchard:

Leadership expert and author of over 50 books, including the New York Times bestseller, The One-Minute Manager; cofounder of Lead Like Jesus; and coauthor of Lead Like Jesus; Lessons from the Greatest Leadership Role Model of All Time 
Learn more about Ken at www.kenblanchard.com
About Phil Hodges:
A human resource and industrial relations manager in corporate America for 36 years with Xerox Corporation and U.S. Steel, co- founder of Lead Like Jesus; co-author of five books, including The Servant Leader and Leadership by the Book with Bill Hybels.
Learn more about Phil at www.leadlikejesus.com
About Tricia Goyer:
Bestselling author of more than 30 novels, nine nonfiction books, and more than three hundred articles for national publications; 2003 “Writer of the Year” at the Mount Hermon Christian Writer’s Conference; popular blog writer, speaker, and radio host
Learn more about Tricia at www.triciagoyer.com
 

 

My Opinion:

 

I was so eager to read this book and while eager doesn’t mean that I quickly read through it, I’m still only half way through, because I’m trying to take my time as I read through it and highlight the important parts I want to remember.  Oftentimes, I find myself losing patience with my children – and I resort to yelling, like my parents often did when I was growing up.  I’ve been working on that and that is why I was so grateful to receive an e-book copy of Lead Your Family Like Jesus because I want to be more of Jesus-type of parent.  When I think of how I feel when my children demonstrate my behavior by yelling at one another or saying mean things – I cringe because they’ve learned that behavior from my husband and I.

 

I’ve blogged before about wanting to be more intentional in my parenting – I don’t want them to see a mom who is yelling, stressed and grumpy all the time.  I want them to see Jesus, when my oldest asked me yesterday if I ever tired of homeschooling them, my heart broke a little – because I’m sure it appears, at times, that I do even though that is the wrong idea because I love having them at home.  My problem has been that while I grew up in a family who went to church, we weren’t really ‘Christian’ and discipline was yelling, screaming, name calling, ignoring and violence between my brothers and I was common.  I’ve failed and I know that gleaning ideas from this book can help to redeem some of that and hopefully my children can eventually become parents who love their children and home educate them as well because they can feel me loving them and they can see Jesus through me – instead of seeing parenting as some sort of drudgery.

 

My only real complaint about the book is the use of The Message paraphrase of the Word of God.  To me, there is too much beauty lost in the paraphrasing and also borders to closely on “not adding or taking away from” – so I had to skip over the Scripture selections and look them up in my own Bible, which is either the ESV or the KJV depending on what is close by.  I know that some prefer the paraphrase as it’s supposed to make Scripture more understandable but I honestly would have preferred another version to be referenced.  An example is in Matthew 4:8-10 when the Lord is being tempted in the wilderness, The Message says: “Jesus’ refusal was curt: “Beat it, Satan!” ”  As you can see I think it takes away from the full meaning of the Bible and Jesus’ words – I can’t imagine Jesus saying “beat it”.

 

Regardless of my opinions of the use of the paraphrasing, there are other versions used but it is predominantly The Message this is a great book for mom and dads who want to mirror Christ to their children.  If you didn’t have a good role model growing up or you just need some inspiration then this book is a great place to start in learning how to lead your family like Jesus, whether you homeschool, send you child to a public school or only have babies grab a copy of this book and begin to lead your family like Jesus.

 

