GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Random 5 on Friday (on Saturday) – April 27, 2013

on April 27, 2013

Well it’s time for another random 5 link up over at The Pebble Pond – hop on over to join in or to visit the others who are participating.

 

1.  I did my 5K – I’ll be writing a more in depth post on it.  It was cold.  It was long (3.1 miles start to finish).  It was fun.  I finished #86 with a time of 1:24:59.4 BUT my friend and I had to take off some time as I dropped my iPod on the trail and we both went back after it.

 

2.  The day after the 5K we left for vacation to Tennessee – it’s not a good idea to plan a 6 1/2 hour car trip the day after you do a 5K.  I loved seeing the mountains and would totally love to move to Tennessee, although my husband and children don’t agree.  We are already thinking of going back next year.

 

3.  A vacation to Tennessee needs to be at least two weeks long and taken with a lot of money.  There is an awesome steakhouse called Alamo, which I highly recommend and there is a great outdoor go-cart place that charges only $5.00 during the week per ride per person.  It was fun although one of the men working was watching to see how I entered the go-cart in my skirt – it can be done.

 

4.  More stops are needed on the way home than on the way down.  My hubby indulged my historian side and stopped at a sight for the Battle of Richmond in Kentucky – one of the volunteers had a dog named Max who two of my three children enjoyed petting, and of course we couldn’t help but stop in Erlanger for dinner at Greek to Me.

 

5.  Tired.  It was great to get away and enjoy some things we wouldn’t normally do or eat (there is no way we’d spend almost $100 on dinner in our city, but on vacation we do) but it’s tiring.  We didn’t do everything we wanted but we did enough to keep us busy and have some fun and it would be totally worth another 7 hour drive to do another round of go-carts and eat at the Alamo again.

2 responses to “Random 5 on Friday (on Saturday) – April 27, 2013

  1. Miranda says:

    Congrats on the 5k! Thats awesome!

Comments are closed.
