GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

The 5K!!!! #86

on April 28, 2013

Well I hope you all are just wondering how the 5K I walked last weekend went?  Have you been waiting all week?  Probably not, but I have to say completing the first 5K of my life left me feeling very satisfied and happy.  I never thought I’d ever do a 5K, and before someone says, “Well you didn’t run it” – trust me had you seen the path that the 5K was on you wouldn’t wanted to have run it.

 

I thought those who were running, were a bit crazy LOL it was cross country literally but if you check out the times, you’ll be surprised by the ages who finished in the top 3.

 

I wasn’t one of them.  I don’t care.

 

My shoe tag, this tracks your time – instead of having a bib – much nicer.

 

It was obvious that some of the people out there were ‘professional’ 5Ker’s and I can’t help but wonder where the people went who were behind my friend and I, but oh well.  I got the shirt 🙂

 

 

The 5K was actually 3.1 miles – and that .1 mile well that was the longest part of the 5K.  Here is where you can see all the results – Speedy Feet.  I placed 86th and my time was:  1:24:59.4  however we had to deduct some of that time because I dropped my iPod and we had to back track about 10 to 15 minutes to go find it.  I’m especially grateful my friend went back with me – although she didn’t have to.  Thank you M!

 

Me getting ready to head out – in my culottes, warm hoodie (it was freezing out!). It wasn’t no beauty contest!

 

I’m doing another walk – it’s called a fun walk as it’s only 2 miles – on May 18th and I’m collecting sponsors.  My goal is to raise $500 for the Women’s Center that gives care and support to pregnant women and their families and affirms that life is precious.  If you’d like to learn how to donate I’ve set up a Facebook event at Sarah’s Walking for Life.

