GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

National Center for Biblical Parenting: The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller RN., BSN. (review)

on May 9, 2013

About the book:

Nuggets of parenting wisdom condensed into 50 short chapters, each one biblical, practical, and relevant for parents of children ages 2-18. Learn appropriate ways to correct, instruct, and set limits. Glean wisdom for dealing with emotions, conflict, and developing closeness in your family… and much more. These 50 strategies provide you with hands-on tools for parenting children of any age.

You will learn
A practical tool to stop children’s arguing
How to separate firmness from harshness
A strategy to help children change their hearts
Ways to teach kids to add energy to family life
Solutions for sibling conflict
The relational side of parenting
What to do when parents don’t agree
How to help kids who are blamers
and much more

The Christian Parenting Handbook is more than an idea book. It’s a tool for integrating scripture and practical strategies that helps you develop a biblical philosophy of parenting based on your parenting style.

Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller, RN, BSN are the co-founders of the National Center for Biblical Parenting and Biblical Parenting University. They teach parenting seminars most weekends a year and have also trained 115 presenters to teach parenting seminars on their behalf. They’ve written several books on parenting, have created three video training programs, and send out free email parenting tips each week. Learn more about the authors HERE.

If you purchase this book at your local Christian bookstore on May 10th or 11th you will be eligible for $400 worth of free gifts – find out by visiting Buy The Book.

My Opinion:

I have to say that this is definitely one of the best ‘parenting handbooks’ that I’ve read in a long time – it’s not preachy but at the same time uses beloved Scripture to import practical and important Biblical truths about parenting.  The Christian Parenting Handbook should be one of the books that you keep on your bookshelf, or like me, on your e-reading tablet – there was so much truth to be found and convicted me on several aspects of my parenting.  I will admit, I am still reading this book – there are so many truths and ideas to try to implement that it’s not a book you read in one sitting and forget – there is much to ruminate over and actually put to use.

I’m a mom who often resorts to yelling – I hate that – and this book has given me some things to think on about how to approach my children differently so I don’t have to yell, or at least, as much.  The one chapter that got me thinking “uh-oh” was the one titled “To Spank or Not to Spank” because it’s a hot topic and I appreciated the authors not taking a stance one way or the other, except to say you shouldn’t spank out of anger – how many of us are guilty of that?  The authors recognize that different children will need different ways of punishment, taking privileges away from one may not work for the other – and so they leave it up to us, the parents to decide how we need to approach our children.

I have to say that I think the reason why I like the book is that it’s written in a conversational style versus a textbook or do-what-I-say way, it makes it relevant to me.  Also, I appreciated the fact that the authors know that we are our children’s parents, not them, not our neighbors, but us – it’s ultimately going to be up to us to make the decisions (hopefully with a lot of guidance from the Lord and His Word) on how to parent these blessings.  Have I agreed with everything?  No.  The authors aren’t expecting every reader to agree with everything, but to take away something practical so that in the end we’ve raised children who love and serve the Lord because they’ve seen Jesus through us.

One response to “National Center for Biblical Parenting: The Christian Parenting Handbook by Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller RN., BSN. (review)

  1. Ed Miller says:

    Great review Sarah. I love the way you shared personally. I too have struggled with yelling at my kids and with anger. Let me share personally for a moment. This heart-based approach has been revolutionary in my life. It’s helped me as a father, husband, leader, supervisor, coach, and in other areas. Behavior modification is effective if your only desire is to get your children to act a certain way. If you want to shape their character, you need to work on the level of the heart. My sons are both adults now and they are fine young men of good character. We consistently focused on the character quality of honoring others in our family! We returned home from vacation in December to find our whole house cleaned and a Christmas tree in place in the corner of the living room. Now that’s honor! This is just one example of the great insights from this special book.

Comments are closed.
