GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: N (need) and O (obedience)

on June 26, 2013

I think it’s easy to come up with some words for the beginning of the alphabet, like A, B, C, D, E but as you get further in it becomes harder and I find myself thinking okay, this is the next letter what can I write about or asking my children to chime in.  For N they probably would have said the word “no” as they hear it quite often.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

I’m actually going with N is for Needy or Need.

I think we all are needy in one way or another.  I know I was and still am – in high school I needed to feel loved and that led to a lot of bad decision making – a lot and even post high and those decisions sometimes still haunt me.

We may be needy financially, emotionally, spiritually, or whatever – I think we all struggle with some sort of need or needy feeling from time to time – we are human.

Whatever our need is there is Someone who can help with those needs, isn’t it great to know that?  As I was thinking of a word I flipped to the concordance in the back of my Bible and looked up the word needy/need and there are verses that speak to that:

“Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may received mercy and find grace to help in the time of need.”  Hebrews 4:14-16 ESV

Of course different translations will phrase it a bit differently but I looked it up in several and all were the same in what it said – Jesus draws us to Him, He wants us to find His grace in our time of need.  Don’t know where you’re next meal is going to come from?  How to fund a school year?  The loss of a loved one?  Seeking love from all the wrong places?

Hebrews assures us that we can come to the throne, God’s throne – not some man made king – but God, the One, True ruler and we can receive grace from Him.  Yes, there are more verses but for some reason when I read these verses in Hebrew it was like a balm, one we can cling to when everything seems too big for us, we can have confidence that the Lord sympathizes with us in our time of need!  How awesome is that?

I think we all also struggle with something else – it’s a word nobody, or most, don’t like to hear today – if you don’t want to hear cover your ears eyes.

Obedience.

No.  Not gonna do it.  I refuse.  Eye rolls.

Obey?  Not me.  We don’t want to obey our parents, our husbands, our children don’t want to obey us and I think, as Christians, we struggle with obeying the Lord.  Oh, we don’t want to admit it because then we’ll look like fake Christians, hypocrites, Pharisees.

We don’t want to obey, our very human nature struggles against obeying – in whatever form of authority is over us.  Sometimes, there is something to be said for not obeying, like in China – women who disobey the government mandates for a 1 child only and refuse to undergo forced abortions or commit infanticide.

Other times, it behooves us to obey – to stop at that red light or to obey that small still leading from the Lord directing us to give more out of our paychecks than planned.

Obedience hurts sometimes.  I know when I decided that I’d have one child, I didn’t have a relationship with Christ at the time, one child only – no more.  Well then, looking back the Lord was working in me even then, even when I didn’t acknowledge Him, when I didn’t want or need a Lord.  I’ll admit I haven’t had any big trials of my obedience, I haven’t had a child divulge some huge dark secret, I haven’t been called to start raising money to go to a foreign land, yet – but it’ll come.

Even Jesus was obedient to His father:

“And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”  Philippians 2:8 ESV

Obedience hurts.

Obedience makes us holy.

“As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct.” I Peter 1:14 and 15

There are more verses on obedience and obeying.  One thing is for sure we are called to obey our Lord.  If we’ve given ourselves to Him, we need to obey Him – we can’t pick and chose what we’re going to obey (that is what is wrong with today’s churches, but that is another post) – we can’t say “oh, I’m only to stop at red lights on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays”.  No.  We must always stop at red lights and like that we must always obey our Lord.

We may grumble.  “Give up my fertility to God”, “How can I give more? My children need to eat?”, “Serve?  I just don’t have the time”

Jesus asked God to take this cup from Him but He knew He had to obey.  What if he didn’t obey?  What if God honored His request and took the cup of His sacrifice?  What if there were no sacrifice – how little is required of us to obey?  God isn’t asking us to sacrifice our child on the cross because He did that – His own Son was murdered on the cross for US – everyone – everyone who wants it.

How can we not obey?  Think on that, what if Jesus hadn’t obeyed His Father?

I’ll leave it at that.  If you’d like to read others thoughts you can visit Ben and Me (and I’d recommend it if you read mine all the way through).

