GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Moving Beyond the Page; Number the Stars and World Wars I and II #hsreviews

on June 29, 2013

I get so excited when I get a chance to review a product that I’ve never heard of before, and that is what happened with Moving Beyond the Page – a literature based curricula that has science, language arts, and social studies units.  I was allowed to chose two units, one physical unit and one online unit – I thought my oldest would be the most interested and she chose World Wars I and II and Number the Stars.  Both of these units complement each other and fall under Moving Beyond the Page’s concept 2 unit 3 for ages 10 to 12 – concept 2 is titled Force and Power and this breakdown may make more sense by viewing the age 10-12 year at a glance page.

Moving Beyond the Page’s curricula is written by several women who are professionals in the education arena but most importantly is that they all have home educated their children and understand the difficulties that homeschooling parents can encounter when it comes to finding quality curricula for their families.  If you’d like to read more about the writers and creators of Moving Beyond the Page I recommend taking a look at their About Us page and if you’d like to see more of an overview of how the 10 to 12 age range works the overview page is full of great information.

Moving Beyond the Page - World Wars I and II  photo stars_zpsc4dd75f2.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

World Wars I and II had nine lessons and it’s recommended that children spend 3 hours on their science, social studies and language arts studies, and since my daughter would spend about 2 to 2 1/2 hours on just her social studies and language arts studies I’d say this is a generous estimate, thankfully we really didn’t have any other school going on.  The lessons in World Wars are:

  1. World War I Begins
  2. In the Trenches and on the Homefront
  3. The End of World War I
  4. World War II Before U.S. Involvement
  5. Mobilizing for the War
  6. Wartime Skills
  7. War in the Pacific and North Africa
  8. War in Europe
  9. The End of World War II

Group picture of the books for the unit World Wars I and II

There are some required books, these can either be purchased through MBTP or borrowed from your library or another source, A History of US: War, Peace, and All That Jazz 1918-1945 by Joy Hakim and Where Poppies Grow: A World War I Companion by Linda Granfield.  There are some basic school supplies needed but these are easily obtained or they will be noted as optional, which I appreciated to take some pressure off.  I initally set out to have my 11 year old do one lesson a day in World Wars I and II however there was a lot of reading in the supplemental books so I had her divide each lesson over the period of two days, I also went through and chose which activities to have her complete as some had two activities.  This book was spiral bound and is over 100 pages including how to use the guide and an answer key.

A propaganda poster she had to come up with and design to support the war effort on the home front.

 photo null_zps0a839b2a.jpg

Map of the extent of the Japanese Expansion, Operation Avalanche and Battle of the Bulge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We used this by me going through and writing on sticky notes what she needed to do each day, including what to read in the book and her supplements as well as which activities to complete.  So all my daughter had to do was pull out the book each day and go to work on it and then I would check it when she was done, or if there was something that said to discuss with the parent, we would come together and discuss that part.  Some activities were a bit more involved and she did need some added help from me, which was fun because there was some things I didn’t know regarding the World Wars, unfortunate since I had Great Grandparents and Grandparents in the wars.

 

 

After having her work on her World Wars unit I’d have her log in to the online portion of MBTP and begin work on her language arts unit based on Number the Stars by Lois Lowery.  This portion was a bit more fun for her to complete as she’s been wanting to read the book – however I was not able to confine her to just reading the assigned chapters – she is like me and prefers to read the whole book through.  I allowed her to do this as her reading comprehension is excellent however she still used the book in order to answer the questions that involved the book.

 

Like World Wars I and II I gave her a list of assignments and she was able to log in to the site on her own and begin working.  I printed off the needed pages that she’d use to work on before beginning the unit and put them in a folder so she could access them when needed.  I liked being able to do this because she could focus on just the activity I wanted her to complete versus in the physical book where all the activity pages are included even if the child doesn’t want or need to complete it.  As each lesson is completed it’s crossed out making it easy to know where to pick up where she last left off – as well as making it easy for me to check her work.

 

Screen shot of Hannah’s Number the Stars online segment.

 

There are also nine lessons, the ninth lesson is to span 3 days and a final project which may take up to 3 days.  We have not yet completed the final project but we are both excited about finishing it and seeing the end result.  The nine lessons are:

  1. Background on Denmark and World War II (there is a PDF document that is easily accessed to get the information on Denmark)
  2. Soldiers on Every Corner
  3. The Button Shop
  4. In Hiding
  5. In the Country
  6. Aunt Birtie is Dead
  7. Run
  8. Little Red Riding Hood
  9. A Magazine Article
  10. Final Project

There is also spelling and vocabulary included in the language arts section which is meant to implemented during the studies.  It is worth mentioning that the curricula is not from a Christian perspective, which was okay for the units we chose and it allowed us to have some interesting discussions such as God’s view of being a woman versus what women went through on the home front as well as those who joined the Armed Forces.  Also, it is not a cheap curricula – however it is in depth and it does align with state standards – but for us it’d be used as a break from our regular work rather than a full on curricula.

 

There are several purchase options you can purchase the full year curricula for 10 to 12 year old for $842.58 and that includes science, social studies and language arts in their physical forms, the literature to go with the studies and the manipulatives needed.  You can chose the online versions of the studies that will also give you the literature and the manipulatives for $752.94.  Or customize your package and buy individual units based on subject or concepts presented.

 

If you’d like to read what other parents had to say about these and other Moving Beyond the Page units visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew Blog.

 

 

 

