GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

How we stay busy in the summer….

on July 4, 2013

 

I like to stay busy, I like to take the children places and usually the children are up for trips, even long day trips.  We’ve been staying busy this week, even with no College for Kids we’ve managed to stay busy.  In the summer, usually it’s easier to stay busy – we have multiple passes to get us in free to many museums.  One of my children’s favorite is the Indianapolis Children’s Museum – it takes us about 1 1/2 hours to get there but it’s worth it.

 

My son, Christian, trying on the Na’vi shoes from the movie Avatar.

 

We have found that the up front cost of pass, while expensive, the Indy costs $170 (we buy the VIP pass that allows us to get 2 others in free) but since each adult ticket costs $18.50 and each child is $13.50 it would cost us $77.50 each visit – plus I can get my mom or two others in free.  After our third visit we are basically there for free.  Plus members get to ride the carousel, which is on the National Historic Register for free (it’s $1.00 per ride for non-members).

Christian and Bethanne dressed up in the exhibit, Take Me There!, Egypt. Bethanne’s favorite exhibit where children can experience Egypt, unfortunately it leaves in August.

 

This is not a review or a sponsored post about this museum – I just want to let others know how we stay busy.  The only complaint I have in visiting museums in the summer months is the fact that they are usually busy.  I have to say that we have been blessed that my inlaws and my mom purchase us passes – I always search out the best deal – such as which museum pass can we use to get in to other museums for free?  We take advantage of the free admissions to other museums through out the year.  I splurged this year on a zoo pass because even with the 50% off that our other museum pass offers (Indy’s pass does not offer any reciprocity) it’s still expensive for 5 people plus parking – so now we can get in free and parking is free as well.

 

Bethanne dressed up as a dinosaur sitting on her eggs.

 

I cannot stress enough how invaluable a pass is for a homeschool family – especially one that offers reciprocity to other museums and/or zoos and for a family that has multiple children – if you only have 1 it will make more visits needed in order to make the pass pay for itself.  We love having the freedom to visit museums and zoos in the off season when schools are in session so we can learn and explore in a hands on manner.

 

Christian dressed as a dinosaur, sharing egg sitting duties 😀

 

 

 

 

13 responses to “How we stay busy in the summer….

  1. You are wise to not strictly consider cost, but value! Most of us don’t have “extra” money to spend, but the way you explained what a single visit costs with the family helps us to see why paying more up front for the pass is a good idea.

    Thanks for doing the math for us!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you Brenda, for commenting. With three children and only one income value is definitely high on my list 😀

  2. I love the summertime as a work-at-home entrepreneur! It means that I take a LOT of time off to have fun with my 6 year-old son, Rhodes. When we lived in Atlanta, I took advantage of those passes too and found them to be worth the up-front cost. Now that we live back in my small hometown of Troy, AL, I miss those opportunities. We mostly just head into our backyard and enjoy the pool. Don’t even to get in the car. 😉 Have fun!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you for commenting Bestsy. I’d love to have a pool maybe one of these days 😀

  3. Michele P says:

    We love museums too, but do not go nearly enough! Trying to change that this summer. Going to join the Children’s Museum here in our new town and off to the Laura Ingalls Wilder one in a few hours. Thanks for the encouragement. Glad you all are having a fun summer Sarah!

  4. Miranda says:

    I am the opposite! I just want to stay home. lol! We do have quite a few things we HAVE to do in the summer so I try to incorporate learning times that are fun for everyone.

  5. Beth says:

    What a great museum! It looks like a lot of fun. There is a children’s museum about an hour from us. I will have to look into that for during the school year – I don’t know if I want to brave the crowds during the summer. I will also look into a museum pass that gives us access to other places. Thanks for the tip~

  6. Wow! That looks like so much fun! I wish we had something like that nearby.

  7. What a great field trip. Looks like you had a really great time.

  8. We moved to Jacksonville, FL, last year and still have yet to visit the Museum of Science and History here. This post makes me want to visit sometime this summer.

  9. […] to accompany us. As I’ve noted before, like in the post, Lions Tigers and Bears Oh My! or How we stay busy in the summer I note that if you have a larger sized family it is imperative you check our memberships.  For the […]

  10. […] One way I also make field trips inexpensive is to buy or ask for memberships for gifts – a great thing to think about this close to Christmas.  My mom recently bought us a membership to a local historical place for $50 that gets us in as many times as we want to 4 different historical places as well as savings in their gift shops and cafe.  So while the up front cost is “WOW!” if you break it down that is $10 per person but then if you visit each of those 4 places just once it breaks down to $2.50 a person which is way less than the almost $8.00 that is regular admission!  Same for zoos, museums, etc but you can read more about that by checking out these posts I did earlier – here and here. […]

  11. […] about museum and zoo passes – you can re-read those posts, Lions, Tigers and Bears, oh my!, How we Stay Busy in the Summer and A trip into the past – and when it came time to renew our zoo pass I was given an offer […]

Comments are closed.
