GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Wednesday Hodgepode – 7/17/13

on July 17, 2013

1. Picture postcards were first printed back in the mid 1800’s and deltiology is the official name for postcard collecting. When did you last send a postcard? Receive one? Do you save postcards sent to you?  Do you collect and/or send postcards when you travel?

I think the last time I sent a postcard was when I visited British Columbia while on an off day while being in dry dock in Bremerton, Washington while in the Navy.  I mailed one to my family as well as myself – I have it somewhere.  I received one a few years ago when a friend of mine went on vacation.  Yes, I save all postcards and cards sent to me but I don’t usually mail them when traveling.

2. What treat do you most like to indulge in while on vacation?

We like to find a great steak house and my husband and I will order the largest, boneless steaks we can get.

3. Are you good at hiding your feelings?

Towards my husband and children, yes, my hubby has probably seen me cry twice in our 12 years of marriage.  I can be real with my friends but I’ve been taught that feelings can be dangerous – although I have gotten better at trying not to hide.

4. Does your town/city/county still deliver phone books to your home?  Do you check the yellow pages when searching for a local business number or has the Internet replaced the phone book in your house?

Yes, they give us one or two a year and we do use them but since they don’t include menus anymore or coupons usually we go to the internet to find a place or menu, depending on what we’re in search for.

5. Would you rather be first or last?

Totally depends on the situation – I’d rather be last if anyone ever got me to jump out of the plane, if their chute doesn’t open I’m not jumping but I’d rather be first in places like public bathrooms because I have no idea who used it before me.

6. July is National Park and Recreation Month (in America, but everyone can still play along)…where and when were you last in a park? Did you participate in any recreational activities while you were there?

I was last in one in April, when I did my first 5K.  So I guess you could say I also did recreational activities.  In the summer because of the heat we stay inside mostly opting to go to the parks in the fall when it’s cooler and not busy.

Oh, no wait – we did visit Cade’s Cove in TN on vacation but it was mainly us driving through and looking at the historic buildings since it was storming.

7. What was one of your worst ideas?

I think it was doing a 5K, especially my first, the day before we left for vacation.  Even though I had been training to walk the 3.1 miles I was stiff and sore the next morning and 6+ hours in a van isn’t a good thing and having done that 5K also had us miss out on getting our rental.  Although in my defense the rental company said they’d be open till 5p.m. and they weren’t, only open till noon!  Our van made it and we did save a little bit of money and got 4 new tires on our van so it could survive.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I enjoy the book Les Miserables, has anyone else read it?  Anyway one of my favorite songs is I Dreamed a Dream and I just checked out the Susan Boyle CD from the library and it was a wonderful rendition of the song.  I’m posting both the Susan Boyle one and the Ruthie Henshall from the Royal Albert Hall production.

