GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Bethany House #Review: Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock

on July 18, 2013

About the Book: Stunning coming-of-age drama set during the Great Depression and Prohibition

When Eve Marryat’s father is laid off from the Ford Motor Company in 1931, he is forced to support his family by leaving St. Paul, Minnesota, and moving back to his Ohio roots. Eve’s uncle Cyrus has invited the family to live and work at his Marryat Island Ballroom and Lodge.

Eve can’t wait to leave St. Paul, a notorious haven for gangsters. At seventeen, she considers her family to be “good people,” not lawbreakers like so many in her neighborhood. Thrilled to be moving to a “safe haven,” Eve soon forms an unlikely friendship with a strange young man named Link, blissfully unaware that her uncle’s lodge is anything but what it seems.

When the reality of her situation finally becomes clear, Eve is faced with a dilemma. Does she dare risk everything by exposing the man whose love and generosity is keeping her family from ruin? And when things turn dangerous, can she trust Link in spite of appearances?

 

You can purchase a copy at Bethany House.

 

My Opinion:

 

Having never read Ann Tatlock before I wasn’t sure what to expect for her writing, especially since it’s a coming of age novel.  That being said I’m glad that I chose this novel to read because it sucked me from the first page – Eve is tired of living around and seeing crime, even seeing a man shot in front of her so moving to Ohio is a dream come true.  I think that too, played a part that this book is set in Ohio somewhere between Dayton, Columbus and Cincinnati – I was hoping that there really was a Marryat Ballroom but like other fiction it doesn’t exist.

 

I could feel the frustration that Eve felt when finding out there was an illegal liquor operation across the way – but things get more tangled as the story goes on.  Eve believes that only bad people drink and that there is no way a good person would break the law to have a little beer.  She meets others who opens her eyes to a way of seeing things that she hasn’t thought about before – but it is liquor that ends up tearing apart her blissful life in Ohio.  The story just flowed together and I loved how it began with Eve telling her story to her Grandson when searching for a special box and it was a delightful read.

 

 

2 responses to “Bethany House #Review: Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock

  1. Blossom says:

    Perhaps I shouldn’t have read your review before I get my book (I’m hopeful I will get it anyway lol)! I read one of Ann Tatlock’s books and at first wasn’t very into it but came to enjoy it. I’m hoping I like this one as much, or more 🙂 Being in Ohio (Cleveland) is why I chose to review the book but I used to live down the in the area where it is set 🙂

    Anyway, good review, Sarah 🙂

  2. I love Ann Tatlock’s books, but have yet to read this one. Sounds like a good one. I stumbled on your website via a community Pinterest board (Ken Hamm’s book), and came to check you out 🙂 So far I like what I see! You’ve been blogging a lot longer than I have. Good for you. Joyce

Comments are closed.
