GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Wednesday Hodgepodge – The last day of July!!!

on July 31, 2013

I think I missed last week so jumping in this week as I needed some inspiration – visit all us bloggers over at From This Side of the Pond.

1. Share one way you think the world has changed for the better since you were a kid?

Hmmm….this is a hard one…..because I can remember being able to walk 6 blocks to the candy store with my brothers, to get penny candy – my children can’t do that anymore because I can’t trust they’d make it home.  I guess I’d have to say the world has changed for the better because we can access the internet for our studies, which enables us to ‘visit’ places like the Taj Mahal.

2. How ’bout one way it’s changed for the worse?

Like #1, I can’t really let my children be outside by themselves.  As long as I’m in the living room and can see all I am okay but honestly I can’t allow my children to even walk toward the end of the block without thinking of all the predators that are in our area.  Not to mention there are so many laws affecting the way we parent – during school hours we try to stay inside because we are watched much more closely than when we are out while other children are allowed out.

3. Starlight, starfish, starling, Starbucks…your favorite ‘star’?

Well I don’t like Starbucks.  Won’t get into that though.  I’d have to say it’s a tie between Starlight and a starfish – both remind that the Lord gave us beautiful things to look at whether high in the sky or deep down in the ocean.

4. Name a song that’s overplayed, but you love it anyway?

Since I mainly listen to K-love I’d say it’s probably anything by TobyMac, which is unfortunate because he has so many great songs but they only play Eye On It (which I like) but not 5,000 times a day 😀

5. When did you last have home made ice cream? Your latest favorite flavor?

When I was a child.  Even the ‘homemade’ place’s ice cream isn’t truly homemade anymore 😦  My favorite flavor anything with chocolate and/or peanut butter.

6. What do you think is the best way to inspire or motivate people?

Not really sure.  Being optimistic helps and can motivate some but I’ve also met people who get more depressed and unhappy but others optimism and try to bring those people down like them.

7.  When was the last time you were without power?

It’s probably been about 11 or 12 years ago – but it was only briefly and any storms we’ve had recently we haven’t lost power in our area, thankfully.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

One thing I’ve learned is that we need to listen to each other – someone may know something or have more information and if you don’t listen you may miss out on important information and continue passing along bad information to others.  On the flip side, even if you think you have all the answers you still need to listen because someone may have another valid point of view.

4 responses to “Wednesday Hodgepodge – The last day of July!!!

  1. jodaley says:

    I just noticed your scoliosis link in your sidebar so read some of those. I have a daughter with scoliosis (not the same type as yours, but still has required much dealing with).

    I love what you said about starlight and starfish. I feel the same!

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you for coming by. She has asked that I quit writing – but I’ll probably do an update after her next appt. We’ve had some surgery scares but thankfully the Lord intervened 🙂 Which does your daughter have?

  2. Nikki says:

    I agree, its sad our children can’t explore the great outdoors like they used to. It used to be “ok be back before dinner!” Now the world’s so untrustworthy because of sickos we have wandering the streets. You can’t risk it even if you are in the best neighborhood in the world!

  3. Zoanna says:

    So true about getting penny candy six blocks away when we were kids. But now I get freaked out if my son gets out of my sight outdoors. I would love some penny candy right about now!

Comments are closed.
