GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

#FlyByPromotions: Alone, Yet Not Alone by Tracy Leininger Craven #grow4christ #giveaway

on August 4, 2013

Alone, Yet Not Alone review at Growing For Christ About the Book: Settled in the Blue Mountains of Pennsylvania, deep within America’s new frontier, the Leininger family celebrates the blessings of a beautiful homestead and bountiful harvest. That is, until tragedy strikes with the beginning of the French and Indian War and the devastating raid known as the Penn’s Creek Massacre.

The lives of this simple, God-fearing family are forever altered when Barbara and Regina, two young sisters, are carried away by the Delaware tribe. Driven by their faith in God and the powerful bonds of family, Barbara and Regina hold firmly to the belief that they are never alone, even in their darkest hour, and that they will be reunited again.

Rich in historical details, Alone Yet Not Alone is an inspirational, true story of a family caught in the cross fire of the French and Indian War.

Movie banner for Alone, Yet Not Alone

My Opinion:

We have started covering American history in our home school so when the book, Alone, Yet Not Alone came along to review I knew I wanted to get it.  This was a quick read, I read it in about one hour – it’s a children’s book geared for about 12 and up – however I would read this aloud to my 7, 8 and 11 year olds.  The redeeming quality of the book more than makes up for some of the scenes that are described in the book, such as a woman slave being burned at the stake (no gory details, but one can imagine) because of trying to escape.  Since we read about the martyrs who were tortured and executed in our home school, this too is history.

This is the novelization for the movie that is due to come out soon and I hope to be able to see it, if it comes to a theater near us.   Having American Indians in my family history and having been fascinated about the Native American culture this book was right up my alley.  There were some gaps in the timeline, when Barbara is returned to her family and when her sister is released there is a gap of about 6 years – I didn’t find this at all confusing or detracting because the author writes in a way that even a younger child should be able to recognize the time lapses.

Again I really enjoyed this book, the overarching theme of faith comes into play time and again.  Faith that the sisters will be re-united, not only with themselves but with their mother and remaining brother and Faith that the Lord will keep them safe.  This is a powerful book that is based in some ways in fact when the author was studying her family’s genealogy, which makes it all the more powerful.  There are 8 full colored pages with images pulled from the movie and a total of 150 pages with an included discussion guide.

Giveaway Info:

Contest will close at noon on August 13, 2013

You MUST leave a valid email so that I can contact you if you win – if you don’t and you win, I will chose another random winner.

Winner will be chosen randomly by a method chosen by me (probably my daughter pulling a name out of a hat)

1 winner will receive a copy of the Alone, Yet Not Alone novelization.

To enter:

  1. Visit the AYNA website and tell me why you want to win.

If you’d like other ways to win (sorry contest forms don’t work on WordPress.com blogs) you can do the following:

  1. Follow my blog on Facebook (leave me your FB name)
  2. Follow AYNA on Facebook  (leave me your FB name)
  3. Follow me on Twitter (leave your twitter name)
  4. Follow AYNA on Twitter (leave your twitter name)
  5. Follow me via Networked Blogs or on Linky Followers on right side bar (tell me how and your name)
  6. Share on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ or other social media (if you don’t use the buttons below, leave me the link to your share – once per day).
