GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Reading Kingdom #grow4christ #hsreviews

on August 19, 2013

This is the third time I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing Reading Kingdom through the Review Crew and since my son is older I have to say it was a much more fun and enjoyable learning experience.  Here is what the site says about this program: Reading Kingdom is a fun, easy-to-use online program that teaches children 4-10 years old how to read and write to a third grade level.”  My son, who is 7 has been struggling with figuring out to put the sounds together to make words and I had him start with the seeing sequences part to make sure he was still familiar with Reading Kingdom as well as making sure he was ready to move on to the reading and writing section.

My son was asking to do his lessons on Reading Kingdom and I did let him do his lessons on the program in lieu of doing his actual phonics curricula during the review period.  I am amazed by how much he actually picked up and retained this time from his usage of the program.  The animation is bright and correlates to what is being taught so that a child can make an inference about what words are being learned, right now my son is learning the words: some, more, girls, girl, boy, boys, etc and is getting really good at recognizing these words outside of Reading Kingdom.

Once I got our account set back up it was easy to bookmark it in our favorites for my son to find on his own and he was able to log in and begin without having someone hover over him.  Using sequencing, writing, sounds, meaning, grammar and comprehension means that the child will be learning not just how to read but how to implement it in daily life without the aid of Reading Kingdom.  My son liked knowing that he could log in on his own and complete his work on his own – it’s easy to click on the owl which takes him right where he left off the last time.

I’d love to have my son reading proficiently like his sisters by the end of this school year and with the aid of Reading Kingdom I believe we will succeed in that goal.  Even on days where Reading Kingdom is all he does I see a renewed sense of his knowledge that he can read and it becomes less of a struggle for him than when we do just our phonics/reading curricula.  Reading Kingdom makes reading fun and the child is learning all while having access to quality and entertaining graphics.  I also like the fact that I can change the response time, my son still takes some time to find letters on the keyboard (our board shows them only in capital letters while the lesson is in lowercase) so by changing the response time it gives him more time to find the letters and decreases his frustration level.

I can honestly say we will be continuing on again with this program, in fact when my son heard me say I had to write my review he became a little sad at the thought he couldn’t continue so I had to explain to him we have it until next year!  That made him much more happy and he is now excited because he knows he can continue using Reading Kingdom to further enhance his reading skills. There is a 30-day free trial offer or you can purchase Reading Kingdom for $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year (you may cancel anytime) and additional children in your own account can get 50% off of their subscriptions.   If you’d like to see what other homeschool parents had to say about Reading Kingdom please visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

