GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: S, T, U, V, W #grow4christ

on August 22, 2013

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Yikes!  5 weeks behind on this one – I’ve had a lot going on as well as getting things published on my blog that needed done.  So I’m linking up at Ben and Me – come on over and check out this great blog!

S is for Scoliosis

I won’t be saying much on this except to say this is definitely a monster.  If you want to read about our journey you can do so here.  I’m not posting more than that at the request of my daughter, when and if she is ever ready to let me share I’ll write more.  If you’d like more information please visit Scoliosis Research Society and iScoliosis.

T is for Thankful

This past week or so I’ve realized that I have much to be thankful for.

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful. Colossians 3:15 (Blue Letter Bible)

I’m so thankful that I have the Lord who knew me before I was formed, who knew what would be going on in my life at this exact moment and that He has it in control – no matter how out of control I feel – I know He has it under control.

I’m thankful for my family (hubby and children) who are a constant  and daily support, my extended family (mom, dad, brothers,MIL and FIL) who we know that when the going gets tough they’ll stand with us and last but not least my friends – who I can count on for prayers, venting sessions, and whatever other support I need.

U is for Understanding

I understand a lot of things.  I’ve got a college degree.  I teach my children.  Understanding comes easy for me (well sometimes LOL)  Dictionary.com defines understanding in several ways, the first being:  mental process of a person who comprehends; comprehension; personal interpretation.  So in saying that I can comprehend quite a bit but I also know it’s not about my understanding.

Not only have I realized this week that I have much to be thankful for but I also know that:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not learn on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.” Proverbs 3:5&6 ESV

So this is one of the verses I’m going to be clinging too, it’s not my understanding that is going to get me through the trials of life but the Lord’s understanding that He imparts to me through prayer and studying of His Word.

V is for Valley

This is starting to get hard!  I’m so glad that I have a concordance.  Aren’t valleys pretty?  They are usually filled with life, teeming with grasses, trees, animals, protection from tornadoes – valleys are indeed a good and beautiful thing.

What about those valleys that aren’t so pretty?  Those that are in a dessert with no water, no trees or grasses?  What about those valleys?  What do we do then?  It’s our human nature to want to run, to avoid and not go through that valley…..

It’s not human nature to want to walk through an area that means hardship, loss, pain, depression is it?

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4 ESV

Ah, a breath of fresh air, a drink from the Living Well….I can know, I can understand that no matter how low, how dark, how depressing, how painful that valley is I can know that the Lord is with me, every step (I like to think of that poem Footprints) He is going to get me through it.  He can get my family through it.  He can get you through it.

Often that rod and staff seem a bit mean, heavy handed, out of place during a time of comfort – but I’d like to think that rod is there to guide me back on to the path when I want to run up the side of the valley, when I want to leave this time, this place – the Lord’s rod is there to carefully and lovingly (maybe even sometimes He might have to figuratively whack me over the head with it) guide me back into His fold, into obedience.  The staff?  Well He has that there to share – when I feel that I can’t get through it.  When my family feels they can’t get through it.  That staff is there for anyone who needs to lean on Him – there is nothing better than having a Friend to lean on in hard times.

and that brings me to W is for Weep

God knows we are going to cry, that there will be times of wailing and weeping – on this Earth there is much to bring us down, much to bring us to our knees and I must admit I hate crying in front of people, whether it’s at church, in front of my husband or children – I hate crying in front of people.

There have been times of weeping this week – and there will probably be more to come in the weeks following but I’m okay with that (even science proves that crying can be healthy for use) because:

“Blessed are you who weep now, for you shall laugh” Luke 6:21b

There will be a time of laughing.  Oh how lovely that sounds!  Ecclesiates 3 tells us that there is a time for weeping and a time for laughing, a time to mourn and a time to dance.  Whether the valley lasts for a day or for a week or for months or for years – we can go through with our weeping because there is a time for it, even Jesus Himself wept.

So weep.  Cry out to the Lord, the One who shares our tears, He will guide us through it and there will be a time of laughter, of dancing, of living!

7 responses to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: S, T, U, V, W #grow4christ

  1. Mary says:

    Praying for you Sarah. Thanks for some great reminders.

  2. Michele P says:

    Great job catching up Sarah! I love reading Blogging Through the Alphabet posts. Praying for you as well!

  3. Stacie Lewin says:

    Will keep you in my prayers. I love the different verses you have picked out as well.

  4. […] you read through my Blogging Through the Alphabet post yesterday you’ll see there have been some struggles lately that I and my family have […]

  5. Melanie Schemanski says:

    Very moving the last ones. Excited to see where x y and z fall!

  6. Diane says:

    Good for you with catching up on the Blogging Through the Alphabet. I stopped about 8 letters back and just never caught up.
    Blessings
    Diane

  7. I’m sorry about your daughter and her scoliosis. 😦

Comments are closed.
