GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Scoliosis is a mean monster. #grow4christ

on August 23, 2013

Our next step on the scoliosis journey. Growing for Christ

If you read through my Blogging Through the Alphabet post yesterday you’ll see there have been some struggles lately that I and my family have been dealing with.  I haven’t actually posted since October 25, 2011 about my daughter’s scoliosis, at her request.  I try to honor their requests in what I post about and as I was typing yesterday my daughter had not given me express permission – but she has allowed me to post about it now.  Our ‘journey’ as I like to call it, because while it’s a struggle, a battle, a war, those words just don’t sound as inspiring, began in June 2010 so it’s been over 3 years and 6 braces (the brace in the picture is her first one, a night brace) of battling this monster.

We caught it early because of my vigilance in not letting what doctors kept saying was a UTI go without further explanation.  Read more about our journey by finding the links at Hannah’s Scoliosis Journey.  So I won’t re-hash a lot of it because you can read the old posts I’ve written – and this one will be linked there too for anyone who needs some help from someone whose been there.  I’m thankful for having two insurances, the secondary picking up the extra cost of the very expensive braces and now we are praying and hoping the same will occur for our next step.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28 ESV

One of the verses I’m clinging too is that God has a purpose for this time – we don’t know what it is right now but He does.  It is hard for this mom to understand that – I want to say yell “Why her Lord? ” but then I remember, He died for her, for me, for us all – He was brutally beaten and nailed to a cross – how can I possibly think our trial is anymore great that His trial?  So there will be good coming of this trial, we walk through the valley, we will lean on His staff when we can’t continue on our own and He will work it to His glory.

So at her appointment on Wednesday, the resident began our appointment and had some questions we hadn’t been asked before.  They had already take her x-ray so they knew, the resident wanted to know if I or she had noticed anything different?  We both said no.  He left the room and came back with her doctor, who was not his usual jovial self.  This was BAD!  Well he dropped the bomb that despite 3 years of almost constant bracing her lower curve was not responding to treatment and had grown to 54 degrees.  Since she has a few more years to grow, and this curve wants to get worse, it will only continue to grow.  Knowing what we know now we do notice a large back bump as well as a slightly crooked walk.

“He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.  Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:29-31 ESV

Some will say that ignoring the rest of the Scripture before these is wrong, but these few verses have given me much comfort before and they will continue to comfort me in the days ahead and I hope they bring comfort to my daughter as well.  Given this recent development we are now getting ready to start the surgical procedures beginning with a pre-pre op in September – which will be the time the doctor will go over the details, we get to ask our questions then we’ll go for our final pre-op in October where he will re-check her curve, check her skin, we get to ask last questions and she’ll make her blood donation should she require blood during surgery.  Then there will be lab work to do a few days before surgery and her actual surgery will be on October 18th.

The first couple days were hard, wrapping our minds around the surgery and the risks – we are choosing to do it before her curve progresses (what parent in their right mind would put their child through this if they didn’t have too?) because there is already risk of spinal cord injury and if the curve progresses that risk becomes much higher.  As a girl who love the Lord and worships Him through her dance, the fact that she retains her ability to walk and dance is of great import.  We are more peaceful about this now and we know the Lord will be walking with us and we know we’ll have many faithful prayer warriors who will be backing us with prayer between now and after the surgery.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plan for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.” Jeremiah 29:11&12 ESV

31 responses to “Scoliosis is a mean monster. #grow4christ

  1. Kelsey Y. says:

    Praying for healing, wisdom, and peace!

  2. Awww. Praying for your family.

  3. Jen says:

    Praying for your family and your precious daughter! May He bring you peace and comfort through this time.

  4. Tracey says:

    Love you all and praying for each of you!!

  5. Laraba says:

    I’m so sorry, Sarah. I will be praying for H. and indeed you all. Yes, as a parent it is SO hard seeing your child struggle in some area. I’m glad we do live in a place and time when something CAN be done, but it is not easy to face surgery. May the Lord bless and keep her.

  6. Praying! As a parent it’s very hard to watch our children go into surgery, but finding a doctor that you trust and respect is a big help.

  7. spinalcolumns says:

    Isaiah 41:10 says “do not be afraid – I am with you! I am your God – let nothing terrify you! I will make you strong and help you; I will protect you and save you”. This is one verse that helped me through my Scoliosis operations. I am praying for your daughter I know exactly how it feels to be young and be faced with having surgery. When I started having my Scoliosis surgeries my curve was at 81 degrees but I know God will uphold your daughter through all of this and her testimony will change so many lives! I have a book out that I wrote to help people going through surgery I think it will help her. You can find it at http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=spinetospine

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you very much, I went and bought your book the day you posted this and my daughter read it in a matter of hours – I need to read it when I get a few. We’ll be sure to leave a review on Amazon as well.

      • spinalcolumns says:

        That’s great I truly pray and hope it will help your daughter and your family deal with Scoliosis! Thank you very much!

  8. Brittany McEuen says:

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. You can find out more about it on my blog at http://brittreadsfiction.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/wow-a-liebster-award-thanks/. If you don’t have time for participating, I completely understand. I just wanted to let you know that I enjoy reading your blog and the encouraging posts you have.

  9. Stacie Lewin says:

    I will keep you guys in my prayers. With all the persisting you did in the beginning pays off as Mommy knows her kids better then anyone. Been there in my battle with my sons Autism. I truly hope all goes well with her surgery and it’s successful.

    • ohiosarah says:

      Thank you, yes sometimes it takes a parent’s constant pushing to get things done – even if it makes us weary.

  10. I have a friend whose daughter went through scoliosis surgery a few months ago. She had a pretty bad case of it. If you want to talk to her, I can see if she’d mind if I passed along her email. Let me know.

  11. Emilee says:

    Praying for your family!

  12. Bethany says:

    Praying for relief and peace.

  13. Michele P says:

    Praying for you and your precious daughter! For answers, healing and mostly peace!

  14. marcyky says:

    Romans 8:28 gets me through almost every day. ALL THINGS.

  15. Lisa says:

    Praying for your sweet girl!

  16. Lisa says:

    You are certainly facing some tough challenges right now. Praying for wisdom and peace for all of you!

  17. Allison says:

    A friend of my family is a chiropractor, and I’m told he has some treatments like decompression treatment that may be beneficial to scoliosis. Do you think it might be a good alternative to surgery for Hannah’s back? I’m praying for Hannah and I hope that you all get through this difficult time with ease.

Comments are closed.
