GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: Y and Z (The End) #grow4christ

on September 9, 2013

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Well, we’ve come to the end – sometimes I had to double up or triple up or more to get caught up but I actually finished!  I’m hoping to be able to join in on the next one but we’ll see where life is leading me then.  Regardless, I’ve been challenged this time and I’ve had fun.

Y is for:

Youth…..

I’m 35 – I’m at a point in my life I never thought I’d be, a wife, a mom of 3, a home educator, a homemaker, 4-H advisor, American Heritage Girl unit leader, reviewer, daughter…..

Some days I don’t feel like a youth, I don’t feel youthful, I feel tired, worn out, stressed and just exhausted.  As I was looking for a word for Y, youth wasn’t it, but I think the Lord had me stumble upon this word so I’d find this Psalm:

“Bless the Lord, O my soul,

and all that is within me,

bless His holy name!

Bless the Lord, O my soul,

and forget not all his benefits,

who forgives all your iniquity,

who heals all your diseases,

who redeems your life from the pit,

who crowns you with steadfast love

and mercy,

who satisfies you with good

so that your youth is renewed like the

eagle’s.”  Psalm 103:1-5 ESV

There are many mentions of youth and youthful in the Bible – sometimes it’s in relation to youth being foolish but this Psalm written by David is so fitting, the Lord can renew my youth, that doesn’t mean I’ll be 18 again – I’d never want to be 18 again – but He can renew how it feels to be youth-like.  He can take my stress, He can give me energy when I have none, He can give me His strength when I have none of my own, He can give me rest.

Z is for zealous:

How’s that for an ending?  I’ve had some discussions lately about sin and my opinion is that we, as Christians, need to be aware of the sin in our life – whether it’s sin in the past or things in our life now that can cause us to stumble – we should be ready to die to our flesh and rid our life of sin.  We cannot sit idly by and be content that while we are Saved by grace, that we can’t or won’t sin anymore.  When we let ourselves idle that is when Satan can and will enter our life.

While we live there is always going to be temptation, Christ never promised us a carefree, a sin free, life if we became Christians – in fact being a Christian sometimes is, quite frankly, the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  I’ve lost friends, I’ve lost family, I’ve had to give up books, I’ve had to give up movies – but you know what?

Being a Christian has made me the happiest I’ve ever been!  I’m free in Christ – losing friends, family, books, etc are but a minor sacrifice compared to the sacrifice Christ made for me.  For my children.  For you.  Before Christ I struggled with depression and suicidal thoughts, since coming back to the Father’s arms I’ve not struggled with that.  I’m not saying those with depression don’t have enough faith, not at all, but for me that was what was wrong – no wonder the medications didn’t work……..I was living in sin……that sin was killing me……and I needed to be zealous and repent!

If you don’t believe that, it’s between you and the Lord, if you feel that we don’t need to be aware of sin and temptation then I urge you to read the Bible to seek the Lord.  For me, I’d rather deal with temptation and rid myself of that sin than to die in that sin and the Lord tell me He never knew me!  Oh, the heartbreak!  I look at Revelation as Christ speaks to the church in Laodicea:

“Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent.” Revelation 3:19 ESV

So be zealous and repent and be ready for when the Lord calls you home, He wants you to be with Him but we must repent and confess our sins to Him.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

2 responses to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: Y and Z (The End) #grow4christ

  1. Psalm 103 is one I quote often. I don’t feel very youthful either (I’m not).

    Have you ever wondered what it means to be renewed like the eagles.

    • ohiosarah says:

      Hi Marcy,

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Yes I have 🙂 I think it means that we can sore above our stresses, we can see them more clearly when we are looking at them through the eyes of Christ instead of through our human eyes, but seeing things from a different perspective it can give us more peace and a feeling of refreshment.

Comments are closed.
