GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FlyBy Promotions Review: Bash and the Pirate Pig by Burton Cole #grow4christ #giveaway

on September 18, 2013

About the book: Written for boys 8 to 14, Bash and the Pirate Pig is the story of a cranky city kid named Raymond “Beamer” Boxby who must spend summer vacation at his younger cousin Bash Hinglehobb’s farm.

Beamer prefers air conditioning and video games. He can’t see what good can come of this so-called country fun that includes riding cows, river rafting with a pig, or playing with skunks.

But hang tight, Beamer, because Bash’s zany adventures with his “Fishin’ and Farmin’ book” (The Bible) just might lead to the coolest Discovery of all.

About the author:

Burton Cole is a Pulitzer Prize nominated journalist with thirty years of experience and more than fifty humor writing awards to his credit. He grew up on a farm in northeast Ohio and attended a small-town church with a slew of cousins and buddies. That same boyhood inspires his colorful stories today.

About the Illustrator:

Tom Bancroft has more than twenty years of experience in the animation and illustration industry and worked with Disney on films including Beauty and the BeastThe Lion King, and Aladdin. Other clients have included DC Comics and Big Idea Productions.

My Opinion:

I wasn’t sure at first and even my children were laughing at the cover, thinking really mom?, but after I began reading it and finishing it in one day I have to say I’m so looking forward to the next book coming out next year.  While the book description says it’s for boys ages 8 to 14 years old – I know my girls will enjoy it as much, if not more, than my son.  I handed it to my 11 1/2 year old daughter today and I’m sure she’ll be finishing it soon.  The illustrations appear on each page when a new chapter begins and adds a light-hearted and quirky touch to the story of Bash and Beamer and their summer time adventures on Bash’s farm in Ohio.

I had to chuckle when I read it because it takes place on a farm in Ohio and seeing as I live in this great state – it’s always neat to see a book or movie featuring us (and Ohio does make it into a lot of books and movies).  My only thing that I must say as caution is Bash and Beamer get into trouble, usually it’s run of the mill boy trouble, but sometimes even when Beamer suggests they get permission from Bash’s mom, Bash is quick to find a way to not get permission inevitably leading to their getting in trouble and getting grounded except for farm chores.  Overall, though this was a great book and at the end there are ways for parents to expound on the Gospel message found within the pages of this entertaining book.

Giveaway:  Please visit the rafflecopter form to enter the giveaway.  Begins 9/18/13 and ends 9/25/13.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

