GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Handlebar Review: A Plain Disapearance by Amanda Flower #grow4christ

on October 7, 2013

About the Book:

It’s Christmastime in Amish Country, and Chloe Humphrey has begun settling into her life in Appleseed Creek excited to see where her new relationship with Timothy Troyer will lead. Unfortunately it leads to murder when the couple discovers the body of Amish teenager Katie Lambright while on their first date.

Near the scene there is evidence that Timothy’s friend and auto mechanic Billy Thorpe is involved with the crime. The police reveal Billy is not really who he said he was and has been living the last decade in Knox County under a stolen alias. Now, Chloe and Timothy must find Billy, bring him to justice, or prove his innocence.

About the Author:

Amanda Flower, an Agatha-nominated mystery author, started her writing career in elementary school when she read a story she wrote to her sixth grade class and had the class in stitches with her description of being stuck on the top of a Ferris wheel. She knew at that moment she’d found her calling of making people laugh with her words. Her debut mystery, Maid of Murder, was an Agatha Award Nominee for Best First Novel. Amanda is an academic librarian for a small college near Cleveland. She also writes mysteries as Isabella Alan.

My Opinion:

I think I’ve just found a new favorite author!  I’ve never heard of Amanda Flower before until I was offered a copy of her book, third in the An Appleseed Creek Mystery series, and I just really enjoyed reading this book even though I have not read the first two, yet.  I’ll be seeking out the first two and her other books when I get some time to do pleasure reading.  Thankfully, Amanda wove some review into this book so it was easy to know who Chloe is as well as her beau Timothy and the other characters that come along – I didn’t feel lost which was a total plus for me when jumping into the middle of a series.  It was easy to figure out that Timothy used to be Amish and there was some strain there between him and his former Amish community, although his family still welcomes him.

Since I’m a sucker for Amish books and I also enjoy the mystery story, blending these can’t be an easy task, but it appears to be easy for Amanda, blending mystery, intrigue, Amish life and a romance seems to come easy and this book is a hit in all three genres, plus it’s one that I can proudly say I’d recommend even to other Christians who may not usually find mysteries in their to be read piles.  I appreciate that even though Chloe and Timothy happen upon the body of Katie, it’s not descriptive except to say how she died – I’m not into gruesome murder scenes and this one gave just enough detail to know that Katie died without blood and gore that usually come with it.  The romance also is very tame, the reader can tell that Chloe and Timothy care for each other and both have a deep faith that carries over into their relationship that it isn’t physical.

I really enjoyed this book and probably would have finished it sooner had I had more free time this past week and I cannot wait to see if my library carries the other books and if not I’ll be requesting they purchase them as soon as possible!  This book and this series is one not to be missed and it has something for everyone who enjoys Amish, mystery and romance, neither detracts from the other but actually would add to each and makes for a well rounded story and great character depth that I enjoy in the books I read.



handlebar publishing member

