GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FlyBy Promotions Review: King’s Faith DVD #grow4christ #giveaway

on October 29, 2013

You can enter the giveaway by using the Rafflecopter form or try this link.

About the DVD:

Eighteen foster homes. Nine arrests. One life-changing moment.

After Brendan King’s life spiraled to rock bottom, the teen found hope in a new relationship with Christ while serving time in a juvenile penitentiary. Recently released from prison, Brendan finds solace in the foster home of a couple struggling with suppressed grief.

As the city-bred teen enrolls at a suburban high school, he finds support from a group of believers. Yet the bonds of his old way of life—and the gang that wants to know where he hid their stash on a long-ago night—are strong. In his darkest moment, Brendan found faith. Now he must decide if it’s worth the price to hold on to it.

King’s Faith stars Emmy Award winning actress Lynn Whitfield (The Women of Brewster Place, Madea’s Family Reunion), Crawford Wilson (Judging Amy, Zoey 101), Kayla Compton (Entourage), and James McDaniel (Malcolm X, NYPD Blue).

King’s Faith features the themes of courage, forgiveness and overcoming your past highlighted with the important message of youth in foster care. The film prompts audiences to consider many of the questions they struggle with today: How can I stand firm in my faith when life’s challenges put me to the test? Where do I turn when I feel paralyzed by loss and grief? Can I find true forgiveness from my wrong choices?

My Opinion:

This movie revolves around 18 year old Brendan King who served time in a boy’s reform camp and is trying to get his life on track after giving his life to the Lord at the camp and truly becoming one of the reformed – both inside and out.  Of course, as most Christians know, being Christian isn’t easy even though there are those who believe that being a Christian and putting faith in Christ is for the weak who need a crutch – and so Brendan is about to find out as he re-enters the ‘real’ world.  While this movie will resonate with those who foster children it will also strike a chord with anyone who has a heart for children – like me, I’d love to foster and/or adopt but it’s not possible at this time but I like to see how it wasn’t just the foster parents who make a difference in Brendan’s life – but everyone he comes in contact with, even the cop who tells Brendan he’s one of the 90% who will be a recidivist back to the system.

Brendan struggles as we all do with our faith and how to actively live it – and how to listen to God or to give into our own fleshly desires.  In one scene he literally has to make a life or death decision and he has to remember to listen to God or follow what his mortal mind is telling him – God’s vengeance or Brendan’s vengeance.  A movie that shows how healing begins and it’s not keeping pain all bottled up inside and how only God can give true healing and peace inside and also help in making the decisions that can either make or break life.  Rated PG-13, it deals with a young high school who made a choice to abort a pre-born child and hide it from everyone, gangs, drugs, and some adult situations although there is no ‘adult scenes’ and I’d be totally fine with watching this with my 11 1/2 year old daughter once she’s able to enjoy a movie.  Run time is 108 minutes and it’s a well spent hour and a half or so, even if you watch it on your own like I did.

 

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

5 responses to “FlyBy Promotions Review: King’s Faith DVD #grow4christ #giveaway

  1. Julieanne M. says:

    Sarah, I don’t see the Rafflecopter form on this page…and your link to it doesn’t bring up anything, either. Maybe it’s a glitch in the system right now? I can try again later, I guess.

    • ohiosarah says:

      Unfortunately I can’t embed RC on WP 😦 the link does work for me – takes my to the form on my FB page?

  2. Julieanne M. says:

    It worked this morning. 🙂 Must have been a glitch with Facebook. 😦

    • ohiosarah says:

      Hmmm…. Both links are working on my end the one that takes you to Rafflecopter you have to scroll down to see the form and the other link that takes you to my FB page requires you like my page first 🙂 HTH

Comments are closed.
