GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: Rosie’s Dolls Clothes Patterns #grow4christ #hsreviews

on November 1, 2013

I have two daughters which means we have several 18 inch dolls, compliments of Grandma, and when I had the chance to review Rosie’s Doll Clothes Patterns I knew I had to grab this chance because not only do we own dolls I also have a dream to teach my daughter’s to sew.   Since I wasn’t taught to sew nor have I really taken to sewing, I can do it, but it’s not one of my better pursuits – I knew Rosie’s would be a great way to introduce my daughters to the many aspects of sewing such as setting up a sewing room, how to cut, chose fabric and actually sewing several different outfits for their dolls.  Learn How to Make Doll Clothes Video Course is a great way to teach girls how to make their own doll clothes so that naked dolls are a thing of the past.

As the name implies Rosie or Rosanne who is a mom came up with Rosie’s Doll Clothes Patterns as she realized the need for affordable doll clothing for her daughter’s dolls – as most of us know, doll clothing can be quite expensive and when fabric can be purchased for $1 a yard on sale that makes making your own very affordable.  The video course comes with over 130 instructional videos that take the viewer step by step through all the steps of learning to sew and also how to put together a garment. It’s your own home ec/sewing instructor for only $47.46 and with that also comes with 8 free patterns and 12 months of access (there is an option to buy a DVD so you’ll have it forever). You’ll be able to make a dress, shorts, underwear, and pumpkin costume and more with this awesome program – and there is nothing to download!

I have been able to have my daughter’s watch the videos on their own while learning the hows and whys of sewing – such as why good light is a valuable tool to have versus a dark room. There are also videos to teach how to use a serger but I don’t have one of those so I didn’t have my girls watch them – although it might be a good idea to have them go back in case we ever do get one. You can pick and chose which videos pertain to your situation – such as if you do have a serger you’ll want to watch those videos. Since a year’s access is allowed there is no rush or schedule to follow in watching the videos and working through each one. The patterns are in PDF format so just download them and print them off – there are guides to make sure the patterns are printed correctly and in the size you need – I printed ours on heavy card stock so that they would last awhile, especially with the pins to hold it to the fabric.

I printed off the patterns my daughter’s wanted – the pumpkin and the underwear – and let them cut out the patterns and then place them on the fabric and cut the pieces out. Now, that being said – I had all intentions of having them sew the pieces together and having them put on a fashion show with their finished pieces, BUT my machine decided this was the time to start acting up and I haven’t been able to get it to sew correctly. However, even though I haven’t been able to have them sew the garments yet – following the step by step videos is a huge plus for me – as usually I turn to online videos to figure out how to do things and since it’s all there, the directions, patterns and videos there is no need to search the net to find what you are looking for, and the videos are high quality, easy to view and easy to hear. I cannot wait to get my machine working and put together some cute and easy to sew outfits for my daughter’s dolls and have them making them along with me.

I cannot say enough how much I enjoy Rosie’s Doll Clothes Patterns it’s a fantastic way to learn how to sew – and it’s beneficial to both mom’s and daughter’s and even sons if they want to learn how to sew as well and make something for their sisters. My 9 and 11 year old were able to use the site easily, younger girls may need more help and supervision if using scissors and a sewing machine. If you’ve never sewn or not sure how to teach someone to sew, this is a perfect solution to being able to learn or have someone teach your child how to sew, which is a very useful handicraft to know how to do.  The recommended ages for this is 8 years old and up. You don’t have to take my word for it though (and most of the others have a sewing machine that allowed them to craft the outfits as well) please visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog to read other reviews from other homeschool parents to read what they thought.

 

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

