GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: EEME #grow4christ #hsreviews

on November 4, 2013

Hands-on science?  Electronics?  Interactive videos and quizzes?  If this sounds like something you may be interested in or having been looking for to use in your home school then keep reading to learn more about EEME.  The projects are geared for children ages 7 to 12 years old, which was great because I knew my son, who just turned 7 in July would enjoy something like this to put together and learn a little more about electronics.  I was given the Genius Light kit which had everything we’d need to put together a light with a photo receptor allowing the light to turn off automatically in bright light and on in the dark, to review.

It was my hope that I would be able to help my son put together the light by watching the videos with him and putting the light together, but since I’m not electronically inclined we opted to have dad help us.  We sat down together to begin watching the videos and started putting together the light box, as I said the kit comes with everything you’ll need to assemble it such as the bread board, wires, light, resistor, and batteries.  All you’ll need to do is to get on your computer and begin watching the videos and start assembling the light box – had my 11 year old joined in I’m sure she would have been able to put it together on her own.  It took us about 1 1/2 hours to watch the videos and put together the whole thing, mainly because some of our wires didn’t look like the wires in the videos (which is why I’m glad hubby was helping because I wouldn’t know how to substitute the other wires).

There are 22 lessons in this project to watch online and several interactive quizzes where children answers questions about what they’ve just watched or assembled.  I helped my son in answering the questions as he has a hard time paying attention for long periods of time and since my husband wanted to do it all at one time so that is what we did, as he assembled I helped my son with the videos and answering questions.  Initially, I wanted my son to help build the unit but after dropping the wires we decided it would be safer to have dad help build and I help work the videos.  It was interesting so see the project come together from several different parts to one working product as well as being incredibly educational.

EEME was started when a dad, named Jack, couldn’t find suitable hands-on science projects for his own child and so EEME was started to aid parents who want to help their children in the area of science and math – I think it’s commonly called STEM.  At first our box wasn’t working correctly but after contacting Jack it seems the box is more receptive of natural light as it went off in natural, outdoor light better than in our indoor light – my son was delighted in this as for some reason he likes items that light up and one that turned off and on by itself provided a great experience for him.

There are currently five kits and you can subscribe to EEME to get one kit shipped to you a month – that’s five months of hands-on science – for $18.95 a month (there is also an option to have it gifted, so if you know a grandparent who’d like to help out it’d be a great Christmas gift shipped every month).  If you’re still not sure you can sign up for free by simply entering your email at EEME to watch the videos for free to see if you’d enjoy getting the kit to put it all together.  If you’re ready to order know that you’ll get free shipping and can cancel anytime you’d like.  Also please visit the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog to see what other parents thought about EEME and the Genius Light Box.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

