GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Crew Review: At Home in Dogwood Mudhole #grow4christ #hsreviews

on November 9, 2013

About the Book (from the site):

When Y2K looms and modern life fails to satisfy, Franklin Sanders and wife Susan go from nuclear family to multigenerational farm. Despite Susan’s admonition that they acquire nothing that eats, they gain dogs, chickens, horses, cows, pigs, ducks and sheep. Their children move back in and bring their spouses, filling Dogwood Mudhole with grandchildren. It’s no Green Acres, but through sheer persistence and good humor, they learn to farm. At Home in Dogwood Mudhole, a three-volume collection of letters, provides a running account of an attempt to live an authentic life, as Franklin writes every month for seventeen years a personal letter to his The Moneychanger newsletter readers.

The author, Franklin Sanders.

Have you ever read a book that makes you feel like you truly know the people in it?  If not, then I feel very sorry for you – and you just might want to grab a copy of Volume One: Nothing that Eats from At Home in Dogwood Mudhole – and get to know Franklin Sanders’ family and all their 4 legged critters.  Feel free to read the sample chapter, titled Pig Persuader and see if you don’t get hooked.  I read this book over a period of four days, there is a lot of good things to ponder in this book, not the least of which is Scripture and how the family’s faith plays into their daily lives.  I’ve only been to Tennessee twice, once when I was too young to remember – think still in utero and this past April to the Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge area and loved it – I’m a country girl at heart but seeing TN from one who lives there gave me a lot more perspective.

I’m not a agrarian farmer nor do I ever see my family becoming farmers – but I do relish the idea of a home in the country with a few chickens (even though I can’t eat their eggs), and maybe a goat and a pig or two – this book gave me quite a bit to go, not so much a step by step guide to farming but more of a look-how-hard-this-can-be but also it’s-so-rewarding view.  I will say this is a down home country man and his writing illustrates that – animals like pigs aren’t pets they are food, dogs can be missed and cried over but in the end they are still animals – which is much as how I view things.  Lest you think this is all about farming and animals – think again, this book has much enlightening views of how much God has intervened and kept His hand on their lives, which is refreshing to hear and their faith reminds me of my Great-Grandparents simple country faith of a day gone by.

Also within the pages of the book is some history, the family is active in doing re-enactments of the War between the States (the author himself refrains from calling it the Civil War, because we can all agree there was nothing civil about it) as well as doing speeches and listening to others about the South and their part in the war.  Did I mention I’m a country girl, but my family is also from the South after arriving from Ireland and Germany so a lot of the information he gives about Tennessee specifically and the South generally resonates with me.  This is probably one of the best books I’ve read in a long time because the whole thing had me thinking, pondering, laughing (I embarrassed my oldest by laughing out loud while reading the doctor waiting room) and even tearing up a little – I ran the whole gamut of emotions and well they like Great Pyrenees, which in and of itself makes for a great book!

I’d definitely recommend this book to those who long for that simple time of when farming was a way of life, who wants to take a look back when family was truly what mattered and those who do farm even on the small scale – Volume One is available in softcover for $22.95 and e-book format for $16.95 and Volume Two is available for pre-order.  I forgot to mention these are letters, from the newsletters Franklin Sanders sends out to his readers, compiled into a book – and they span 17 years – and while it’s fun to read and look back at how we were all preparing for the worst in Y2K – there is a lot of precious gems to also glean from this book.  I’d say this is definitely a book geared for the older teen to adults as there are some descriptions of animal burials that younger children may find disturbing.  He also gives contact information for places that he feels are a treat to patronize as well.  Anyone up for a trip to Tennessee?

You can read what other homeschool parents thought of At Home in Dogwood Mudhole on the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Crew Review: At Home in Dogwood Mudhole #grow4christ #hsreviews

  1. On behalf of the Sanders family, thank you for taking the time to read the book and post your review. We would like to let your readers know they can get free shipping (for up to 2 books, to US addresses only) by using the discount code TOSFREE at checkout. Thanks again, and God bless!

Comments are closed.
