GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: F is for Field Trip #grow4christ #abcblogging

on November 12, 2013

Blogging Through the Alphabet

I had a lot of words going through my head for F – like follow up, follow through (having a hard time with doing that lately), frugal (a couple ladies have already done that one 😀 ) so I landed on Field Trip – it’s one thing I know quite a bit about and one thing we enjoy.

When doing field trips, either for a group or just for my own children, I make it a point to not make it expensive because for most homeschool families on one income extras can cause a burden.  I’m not saying that those who want to pay $10 or $20 for one person, for a field trip is wrong but there is no way we could possibly do any field trips for that price and so while some would say we are missing out on things I’ve found there are comparable field trips that are cheaper or even free.

One way I also make field trips inexpensive is to buy or ask for memberships for gifts – a great thing to think about this close to Christmas.  My mom recently bought us a membership to a local historical place for $50 that gets us in as many times as we want to 4 different historical places as well as savings in their gift shops and cafe.  So while the up front cost is “WOW!” if you break it down that is $10 per person but then if you visit each of those 4 places just once it breaks down to $2.50 a person which is way less than the almost $8.00 that is regular admission!  Same for zoos, museums, etc but you can read more about that by checking out these posts I did earlier – here and here.

I just did a search on my blog for my past posts on our field trips and I love seeing the different places we’ve gone and seeing how much my children have changed over the years – even how my blogging style has changed!  A simple search on my blog will give you an idea of just what we done over the years such as visiting a working canal with lock on a canal boat pulled by mules, a fire house museum that taught fire safety, a local Christian radio station and more and most of these cost us less than $20 for the 5 of us, or 4 if hubby or grandma couldn’t go – some were most often free.

To me, field trips are a much needed break from book work and also a nice time to just spend time with my children without feeling like I’m always in teacher mode.  One of these days my goals are to find field trips that are located within one state of us like Indiana, Pennsylvania, Michigan and Kentucky and do field trips to other states that I can drive too on my own and even if we have the cost of a cheap hotel and gas if they are free visits then the cost would still be minimal then of course I could always offer to write a review for the hotel and get a stay in exchange!

 

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: F is for Field Trip #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. Micki says:

    Or you could come here and STAY with me for FREE and get all of your meals FREE and I would make sure we visited this Civil War areas and other historic areas from the late 1700’s that were FREE or really close to FREE, LOL! All it would cost you would be the cost of gas to come. I’ve been missing y’all so very much! Hopefully in the Spring since you never know when the mountain snow clouds are going to dump on you 😉 love y’all!

Comments are closed.
