GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Litfuse Publicity: The Mighty League Storybook App Review #grow4christ

on November 21, 2013

About the App:

This INTERACTIVE storybook app is based on the real JMan, Jonathan Murphy, and his REAL LIFE adventures growing up with ASPERGER’S SYNDROME. Written by his sister, Molly Murphy, and narrated by Jonathan, the story is told by someone who sees his world from a very unique perspective. It promotes SELF-ACCEPTANCE, AWARENESS, and an UNDERSTANDING for others who are different.

A little more about this app:

The adorkable JMan and his plucky hedgehog sidekick, Mr. Redge are the unstoppable, secret superhero team who save a classmate from the poking pranks of Dr. Evil Touch! Join this quirky duo on their quest to stop a bully, make the school playground a peaceful place, and more importantly, make a new friend who likes crime fighting, capes and karate, too. Discover JMan’s hidden notebook on each page about what it’s like to be an Aspie.

The super secret notebook.

 

My Opinion:

Now, before I begin I will say that I don’t have a child with Asperger’s Syndrome but since I do have friends whose children do or something similar I found this app intriguing.  Since I was bullied for years in school I wanted to see how this app responded to bullying and especially since there has been such widespread coverage of bullying (even though it’s been going on for years – believe me it hasn’t gotten worse, it’s just more noticeable).  The interactive nature of the app is fun for children and since it’s a 10 year old boy and his pet hedgehog most children can relate to that – although my children are homeschooled they still are quite aware of bullying and what it is.

I think too this app would be handy for children who do not have Asperger’s Syndrome so that maybe they can learn more about it and their peers who may be affected and how to respond kindly to them.  The secret notebook appears by touching Mr. Redge and there are facts on Asperger’s, bullying and being different.  There are a lot of sounds as well – I found the music playing to be a bit much and quite distracting and it was hard to really hear the story being read (I would have liked to turn off the read to me feature but couldn’t figure out if I could?).  The app is interactive in other ways as well such as touching the exclamation points has the characters ‘talk’ and their thought bubbles pop up.

Overall, there were a couple issues like I mentioned above I couldn’t easily figure out how to turn off the read to me feature – but I know there is a way and there is a way to record your own, but I couldn’t figure it out.  As I stated above the music was also quite loud and also I should note the pages do not turn fast, at least not on my iPod Touch and it crashed on me a few times.  I think this app has a lot going for it for the ages it’s geared for, 5 to 11 year olds, but there were some things that were distracting to me, a 35 year old mom.

If you’d like to see what other bloggers had to say about this app then please visit the Litfuse Landing page.

 

