GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Bethany House Review: The Secret Keeper (Home to Hickory Hollow) by Beverly Lewis #grow4christ #amishfiction

on November 26, 2013

About the Book:

Come home to Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania–the beloved setting where Beverly Lewis’s celebrated Amish novels began–with new characters and new stories of drama, romance, and the ties that draw people together.

Jennifer Burns shocks her family and friends when she bids farewell to her modern life in favor of the Old Order Amish world, settling in with Samuel and Rebecca Lapp.

The people of Hickory Hollow are curious about the beautiful young seeker among them–one handsome Amishman in particular–and Jenny faces many challenges in the Proving time the brethren set for her…challenges of the heart, as well as the spirit.

 

 

My Opinion:

I’ve had the pleasure of reading the other three books in this set and I must say that this one has been my favorite thus far – unlike other Amish fiction – this book tells the story of Jenny who is a Seeker and wants to leave her fancy life behind and become an Amishwoman.  I used to think that as well but I know that while I do things to try to simplify I couldn’t live as an Amishwoman – I need my air conditioning in the summer months – so the whole aspect of becoming Amish really struck a chord with me.  At first I couldn’t relate to Jenny, who comes from affluent means and is surrounded by every luxury, but she chooses to give it up.  Once she arrives in Amish country, I began to relate a little more to Jenny as she learns how to keep a home, back, and do womanly arts like embroidery, quilting, sewing and darning.  I too had to learn and even am still learning some aspects of what it means to keep house.

Of course, the book isn’t just about Jenny’s seeker status but also we get to visit with the Lapp’s again, whose daughter is the one who left the Amish to seek her dying birth mother but then returns to Hickory Hollow to live with her husband under the Bann.  Jenny is soon sworn to secrecy by Rebecca (Katie’s mom and Jenny’s mentor) and is worried about the day she is confronted as she knows it will jeopardize her status of a seeker and one day becoming Amish.  Also, since this is a Beverly Lewis book, there is some budding romance going on – although I don’t want to give away too many spoilers so I’ll say you’ll have to read the book to find out more.

The book ends on a positive note, but again I don’t want to give away too many spoilers because I feel that once you start it you’ll want to discover all the secrets and the faith that make up this story in the Hickory Hollow series.  This book does stand on it’s own,  so even if you haven’t read the others: The Fiddler, The Bridesmaid, The Guardian this one will be fine to start with if you’re just returning Home to Hickory Hollow.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

