GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Edify Media: When Calls the Heart DVD #grow4christ #review

on November 27, 2013

About the movie:

When Calls the Heart is the story of Elizabeth Thatcher, a cultured young school teacher in 1910 who, through the discovery of her aunt’s secret diary, finds the courage to leave her big city home to accept a teaching position in a frontier coal mining town. And in the process, she also finds the potential for love with a handsome Royal Canadian Mountie.

 

 

You can purchase $19.98 and runs for 89 minutes.

 

About Michael Landon, Jr. – Director:

Michael Landon Jr., son of the late television legend Michael Landon, has been in the film business for over 25 years.  With two of the highest rated films in the history of the Hallmark channel, and several top ten releases targeted to the Christian market, Michael has become known for creating heartfelt, inspiring films that connect to the family.  He has developed and/or produced, directed, and written screenplays for Fox, CBS, NBC, Disney, Sony, Lifetime, and others.

 

 

My Opinion:

 

I read the book, When Calls the Heart, years ago so when I had the chance to watch the DVD recently I was excited.  Reading Janette Oke books take me to a time that was simpler in that Faith abounded but also harder in that there was so much more laborious tasks – and I love that about Oke’s books, it isn’t just about the romance, it’s about the Faith of the characters and how they live their lives.  That comes across so well in this movie directed by Michael Landon, Jr. – Elizabeth’s strength comes through on the screen as she goes West to a mining town and leaves behind her well to do cultured life to teach.

 

Reading her aunt’s diary sets the course for what she realizes she is able to accomplish in her own life, including love, but ultimately relying on the Lord to get her through.  The whole 89 minutes kept me enraptured as I watched the movie with my 9 year old daughter, who also enjoyed it, her actual words were “I really liked that movie”.  Given the Dove family approved seal meant that I didn’t have to worry about any scenes that would make my daughter ask questions that she is still too young to know the answers to and I was glad to share with her the enjoyment of watching a Janette Oke come to life.

 

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

2 responses to “Edify Media: When Calls the Heart DVD #grow4christ #review

  1. Melissa says:

    Sounds like a great DVD! I enjoyed the books! =)

  2. […] books for a long time and I enjoy the movie adaptations as well.  I had the chance to watch When Calls the Heart last year so I wanted this one as well.  I’m still trying to figure out how they all tie in […]

Comments are closed.
