GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

FlyBy Promotions Review: The Nativity Story App #grow4christ

on November 27, 2013

About the App:

Where will baby Jesus be born? At the market? At a restaurant? At the inn? Readers of this book app can follow Joseph and Mary on their search for a place to stay in Bethlehem. Along the way they encounter a variety of colorful local people and animals. This is a fun and engaging way to share the original story of Christmas with the young generation and remind them what Christmas is all about.

 

The app is geared for ages 2 to 8 year old children, but those younger or older may also enjoy it.  The features of the app are:

 

  • It looks like a vintage pop-up book – a nod to the past with a hint of the future with an electronic feel
  • Interactive features, children can help Mary and Joseph find a place to stay
  • Choose read by yourself or narration – narration can keep the children busy while you attend to other Christmas activities
  • Music, characters and lots of sound effects appeal to children
  • After the story ends the real Biblical account as told by Luke

The iPad version is available for $3.99 on iTunes.  And the iPod Touch version is available for $1.99 on iTunes.

My Opinion:

I love the old pop-up books from my child hood and I love to view old wood cuts so this app blended new technology with the old feel of a time gone by into one fantastic app.  The app opens with a ‘cover’ of a beautiful book with a flickering candle illumination Mary, Joseph and Jesus at which point you can chose from the English, French or Spanish version, after you chose your language click on the cover of the book which then allows you several other options such as read to me, read by myself, explore the Scriptures, as well as the app credits, other books, etc.

I tried out the read to me first, as I have both non-readers and readers in my house, the voice that did the reading was pleasant and it was easy to follow along, although highlighting the words would have been nice for those beginner readers.  I had a lot of fun making Mary, Joseph and the other characters talk, by clicking on the circles – if you don’t do them in order from left to right though their conversation doesn’t make much sense!  Even the donkey makes noises if you click on him, and by swiping over Mary and Joseph, windows, doors you can make them travel, open and talk – which was quite exciting for my three children ages 11, 9 and 7 years old.

Overall, I think this app is great in introducing children to the Christmas story and my only really issue with it is the fact that Mary more than likely didn’t give birth as soon as they arrived in Bethlehem nor did they stay in an actual barn, as we know it today.  I did appreciate that the wise men weren’t not shown in the story and it ended with the shepherds worshiping Christ and the angels praising God in the highest.  I highly recommend this app, I only had an issue one time with it staying open and the other times it ran through with no issue and my children and I have really enjoyed it and I think it’s going to continue to bring us good memories for years to come.

 

 

 

 

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

 

