GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: I and J are for….. #grow4christ #abcblogging

on December 9, 2013

One thing I think about during the Christmas season is the fact that we tend to build up idols.  As I watch commercials sing about the joy of shopping, saving money and giving gifts I think we have built these things up as idols.  Yes it’s good to save money, it’s even good to give gifts – but when we only see that during Christmas it tends to become something we idolize.

The Free Dictionary gives us several definitions of what idol means:

  1. a. An image used as an object of worship  b. a false god
  2. One that is adored, often blindly or excessively
  3. Something visible but without substance

Given that humans are very much prone to making idols – whether we esteem someone so much that we fail to see that they are human (I can think of some recent events that show how much Americans blindly follow other men) or that we make an object (iPhone, tablet, our house, cars, etc) something that we worship.

You’re probably thinking – I don’t worship my house, I don’t adore Mr. X…. does that thing or person replace the Lord?  Does the thrill of the next bargain or the next big present replace the thrill or overshadow the thrill of worshiping the Lord?  You don’t need to answer to me 🙂

I too have to re-examine things – it became clear that in an effort to get more free product and books that I was letting things slide.  My children are suffering.  My house.  Our school time.  My Bible and prayer time.  All are suffering…..

I’ve resigned from two review places because I could feel reviews becoming an idol – they’d replaced God, they’d replaced my family and it was becoming an all consuming idol.

Once we get rid of our idols we can enter into J or joyful!

I’ve always loved Christmas.  The presents.  The trees.  The lights.  The cookies.  The Bible story.

Having become a mom I now can sense what Mary felt.  It was joy!  No, I’m sure the pain of child birth wasn’t joyful.  Nor was the fact that she was probably shunned from many friends and family.  OH!  We can take joy in our sufferings – but that is for another post.

It’s no longer the presents.  The tree.  The lights. that bring me joy – don’t get me wrong I still like those things and I still love watching my children’s faces as they take all these in but it’s the true joy of Christmas – knowing that Christ came down to earth as a helpless little baby and would one day soon – let’s face it 30 odd years is soon – die a cruel, horrible death.

Take away the commercials.  Take away the trees.  Take it all away and you’ll still have Christmas – no one can take away Christ and His coming to earth.  People can try to diminish Him or try to say it’s just a ‘story’ but the real joy comes from knowing that Jesus came, He lived, He died, He rose and He’s alive and waiting for His bride.
Blogging Through the Alphabet

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

4 responses to “Blogging Through the Alphabet: I and J are for….. #grow4christ #abcblogging

  1. Laraba says:

    Wonderful post, Sarah!

  2. Hey, I used Joy for my J word also! You are exactly right about things that become idols and the fact that getting rid of those can help us to be joyful!

  3. Great job. Thank you for sharing.

  4. […] Again, we’re not being told not to sleep but only to not make it an idol – remember my I and J are for post?  If we make sleep an idol (as it could become for me if I let it control each and every thought) […]

Comments are closed.
