GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

Blogging Through the Alphabet: K is for Keeper #grow4christ #abcblogging

on December 18, 2013

Blogging Through the Alphabet; K is for Keeper @GrowingForChrist

I’ve been subscribing to a magazine called Keepers At Home for a long while, years…..I’ve even had the pleasure of meeting the people who run the magazine.  I wasn’t quite sure what to write about for K because it’s been a whirlwind 3 weeks with my husband having had 3 hospitals stays.  While he’s been in the hospital I’ve been holding down the fort at home – it’s proved challenging and also I’ve come to realize how much I rely on my husband at home, especially at night when I hear EVERYTHING that goes bump in the night!

Titus 2:5 in the KJV says “To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.”  while the ESV says “to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God be not reviled.”

They both say pretty much the same thing just in different words – but I have to say I have no idea how I would have been able to deal with my husband’s medical crisis and hospital stays as well as take care of the house and the children and everything else that needed to be done, completely on my own.  I’m not a great keeper at home, I’m not even a good keeper at home – but these last few weeks have shown me that I’ve had to learn that some things have to get put aside or completely thrown out so that the things at home can be taken care of.

My keeper status this week was elevated to caregiver as I had to ask questions alongside my husband so we could get the care he needed, and still needs.  I’m not writing this post to say that all women have to be at home, mainly my thing is that me being a keeper these last few weeks changed – I wasn’t only a keeper at home but I was also a keeper in a hospital setting.  I’ve had to learn to be self-controlled as there were many times I would have let my tongue loose and the fall out would have been bad.  There was much I’ve learned about myself and about the changing nature of what being a keeper at home is – it won’t always be…

at home in the kitchen….

with your children…..

with your husband…..

changing diapers…..

homeschooling……

your keeper status may come to involve an aging parent, an ill child, a sick spouse.  Your time may be spent in a nursing home, a hospital or elsewhere outside the actual home but what matters is that what you are doing is bringing honor and glory to the Lord.  If I could go back and do one thing differently these past few weeks it would be to treat the nurses nicer at the first hospital – they encountered a tired mom, stressed out wife, slacking home educator and a lousy Christian example – not one of them saw Christ in me and nor did I honor or bring glory to the Lord in my actions or words.  I can excuse my behavior by claiming they weren’t doing their job (which has some truth to it), that they weren’t addressing the issues (some did), and many others but there is not excuse when it shames my Lord.

So as you go about your day as a keeper at home, whatever that may look like, remember that what you do should be done so that the word of God is not blasphemed or reviled – hated.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

