GrowingForChrist

Faith, Family, Love and Reviews

New Leaf Publishing: IndoctriNation: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity (review) #grow4christ

on December 19, 2013

About the BIndoctriNation review @GrowingForChristook:

Look behind the comfortable myths of an educational system actively at work to alter your child’s moral values, worldview, and religious beliefs. Learn the history and philosophy of public school education — and discover it is based on neither Christian nor American values. Explore the biblical principles regarding education — and who is ultimately responsible for our children’s future.

You can purchase the book at New Leaf Publishing (Master Books) site for $14.99 and the corresponding movie.

 

IndoctriNation Trailer from indoctrination on Vimeo.

My Opinion:

I have not had the chance to see the movie which this book is based on but I knew when I had the ability to receive this book and review it I had to take it and I’m so glad I did.  Yes, I’m already a homeschool parent and that decision was made months before our first child was even to be born – it was first from a desire that our child not be involved in what my husband and I encountered in our school years, then it evolved into a conviction that we are to be the ones teaching and training our children, not just in math, reading and writing but in the truths of the Lord.  Our children, and other Christian children cannot get good Christian education in our current public schools and even in some private schools today.

We as parents won’t send our children to a store that we knew actively promoted false gods, paganism, humanism and Marxism – so why would we send them to schools to literally have these ideas put into their brains for 8+ hours a day?  I know, I know, your child’s school isn’t like that, your child has Christian teachers, then I urge you to get this book and start reading with chapter 21 by Israel Wayne titled, “The Dog Ate My Lesson Plans:  Common Excuses to Keep from Homeschooling”.  I’m sure some children do come out of schools with their faith intact but the majority of students who come from Christian homes will leave high school with a tattered and waning faith and if they haven’t already, will also be leaving our churches.  I can speak from experience.  I was that child and I became that adult.

IndoctriNation gives the reader some hard facts – some that many parents would like to ignore or say, “that won’t be my child” – but in all honesty Christian teachers cannot share their faith – it’s forbidden by law.  Teachers are forbidden from disciplining children or even from handing out grades that students achieve whether they be A’s or F’s because of parental outcry.  I know there are some good teachers stuck in the schools, I know there are Christian teachers in the schools – but that does not mean we can ignore the fact that God gave us our children and He told us we are to be the ones teaching them!  I enjoyed reading the factual and straight forward resignation letters from two teachers and the moving introduction from a dad whose son was killed in the Columbine shooting.

Please, if you are thinking of putting your child in an institutional school setting, whether it be private or public, please get a copy of IndoctriNation – read it alongside your Bible, with your spouse, and with much prayer and see where the Lord leads you.  The books also gives ideas on what parents can do to protect their children from the indoctrination that is infiltrating the schools, from evolutionary thought, to sex ed, to the thought that Christianity is old fashioned and has no place in the ‘real’ world.  This is a must have book that is worth the time it takes to read it if you are a parent or even a concerned Grandparent.

(c) 2013, Sarah Bailey/Growing for Christ, All Rights Reserved, Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws

One response to “New Leaf Publishing: IndoctriNation: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity (review) #grow4christ

  1. Laraba says:

    Another point…and I don’t know if this book addresses this or not…is that teen culture itself is so peculiar and sad in many ways. I recently read a couple of books on self image and bullying, written by a Christian mother on how to encourage teens in institutional school settings. The books were very sad. Young people shouldn’t have to endure that kind of thing, they really shouldn’t.

Comments are closed.
